Chocolate and Almond Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
these were amazing. i used sliced almonds, egg replacer, left out the whiskey and added some water and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by satyagraha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
The end result of these was excellent. However, I added 3 or 4 tablespoons of water to the dough to get it together. I don't carry whiskey at my house either, so I left it out. The only other minor change I made was a substitution of dried cranberries for the chocolate chips. Consequently, I didn't have any problems with the chocolate smearing, and the cookies were beautiful in the end. They taste delicious, and I wish I could give it another 1/2 star because this is a pretty authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made biscotti many times before, but have never made a chocolate variety. I tried this recipe and discovered that while the resulting cookies ARE very tasty, they have a rough appearance (I think the dough is too dry) and are not suitable for gift presentation. The other problem is that even when they cool after the first baking for the prescribed time, the chocolate chips are too melted and smear across the cookie surface as they are cut. The really dry dough makes for a craggy surface during the first baking, and the result is so crumbly, that one must cut the cookies too thickly for an attractive-looking cookie. To "punch up" the flavor, I added a tablespoon of fresh orange zest - they were very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Dough was difficult to work with -- too dry, which made for a very rustic-looking cookie. Taste was very good however, and I drizzled white chocolate on the biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
my friend Lori and I made 3 different kinds of biscotti one day. This one came out the best. We made per recipe, 'cept the 7/8 C. sugar. guestimated that one! pretty close though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
My first try at biscotti and it turned out excellent. I also added another egg and then it seemed to have enough moisture to hold together. I also chopped all the almonds, instead of leaving some of them whole. I got about 40 pieces because I like my logs a little larger. Biscotti is full of flavor and not hard as a brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This made a wonderful crunchy biscotti that I plan to use when my family comes for the holidays. I didn't have whiskey so I added another egg for the extra moisture. I also had sliced almonds rather than whole ones. I toasted the sliced almonds, omitted the step using the food processor, and just added all the sliced almonds to the dry ingredients. With all the almonds and chocolate chips, the biscotti look as good as they taste. I got about 50 slices from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
There were way too many almonds and chocolate chips, and not nearly enough "binder" to hold it together. It was impossible to slice without crumbling, was VERY dry and almost impossible to shape into a loaf...we had to add quite a bit more moisture. / We used Splenda in place of sugar. Perhaps that affected the texture? Not sure...but I can't imagine anyone rating this more than 2 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAGRUBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Hill, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I have been making this biscotti for 6 years. I give it away to family and friends at Christmas time. I just finished making a recipe for 40 cookies last night. I went to my local resaurant to get a quick dinner and mentioned that I had been baking all day and I did not feel like making dinner. I told them I make biscotti and cookies. The owner asked if I sell the biscotti and I told her no, I give it away to family and friends. She asked me to bring some in today and if shel liked it she want me to make her some for an up coming party. She called me back about 15 minutes and said she would pay me $50.00 if I made her two dozen. I gladly accepted her proposel and I will have them done tomorrow. Just goes to show this is an excellent recipe. By the way she is Italian from Italy. Everyone should be so lucky to make and share this recipe with everyone! Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Can't get enough of these! Best recipe I have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States