Chocolate Amaretto Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Ummmm...let me say that I LOVE amaretto and semi-sweet chocolate, and THIS is terrible. So bitter and so strong that I think it must be missing an ingredient - such as SUGAR. I added about 1 cup of powdered sugar mixed with a little water and then added that to the chocolate/amaretto paste - helped quite a bit. Result was a very dark, nearly bittersweet, shiny, chocolate glaze. Can't IMAGINE using the recipe as written - it has to have some type of sweetening to be palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
delish! I didn't have enough amaretto so i used 1/4 cup of vanilla vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This frosting is absolutely AMAZING! I don't think I could come up with a single bad thing to say about it if I tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My 21 year old son says, "It's the greatest frosting ever made in the history of ever!" We put it on Chocolate cake V. Fabulous combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEOKIFAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This frosting is EXCELENT! I used it for a filling between a chocolate cake. I did add 2 cups of powdered sugar then refridgerated it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Live, Laugh, Love, Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
i loved this recipe! i thought that the amaretto was going to be too overpowering, but it was spot on! this recipe is definately a keeper! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live, Laugh, Love, Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was so easy and turned out quite well! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this with White Chocolate, beyond awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Next time I willl try milk chocolate the semi-sweet made the icing to bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very, very rich chocolate frosting. We liked it, but when used on a chocolate cake you really need a dish of vanilla ice cream or a cold glass of milk to help off-set the richness of all the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States