Chocolate Almond Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Great recipe. I made it exactly as written and it couldn't have been easier or better tasting. Thickened up beautifully. I have never heard [in over 4 decades of cooking] that cornstarch can be over worked, or stirred too much [as one reviewer stated] If you follow the recipe exactly as written it will thicken beautiful, even while whisking until the end. On our second and third batches [yes, it is that good] we substituted peppermint for almond extract and tossed in some semi sweet chips after adding the extracts. We also substituted orange extract [again for the almond] and added white chocolate chips with about 1/4 orange zest. The possibilities are endless. NOTE: I used about a handful of chips which is almost[?] 1/2 cup. Thank you for this FABULOUS recipe. Family favorite. Review is based on following the directions exactly and no substitutions. It is a true review based on the ingredients and instructions as written. Did I mention easy? giggle PS - We like cold pudding so we covered each individual pudding in a martini glass in plastic wrap to keep the pudding from forming it's own skin. Topped with homemade whipped cream and sprinkles. YAY Happy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skippy Aveo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
yum! light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was a cinch to put together, that's for sure. I prepared this as written save for doubling up on the vanilla and omitting the almond which just didn't appeal to me. I used a very good quality cocoa so it was deeply chocolate. It had great chocolate flavor but something was missing; a smoothness, a richness, a silkiness. This was just, well, flat tasting. And then it occurred to me - the recipe did not call for a little butter to be stirred in at the end with the vanilla as it typically is with cooked custards like this. And it was deeply missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jodi McClellan
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Easy! And the best! According to my 4 boys-ages 7-17... I used homemade almond milk and probably could have left out the almond extract... But it was yummy and hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi McClellan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very tasty and easy to make pudding.. The texture was a little off, but maybe this was due to me not whisking enough... We'll see if it was just me next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crissybvw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Stir constantly. Turned out a little thin, but very tasty. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Bought vanilla almond milk by accident. Didn't want to drink it, so made this and omitted the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was better than I expected. Might try it with extra vanilla and no almond extract just to see if I like it better. Texture was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Msybe I did not pay as much attention while cooking as I should, yet the pudding was fine. It can be even better if I had stirred even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Fabulous and easy- great combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States