Choco Shortbreads Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This recipe was the best I've ever tasted! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Just made them for the Holidays - they are FANtastic. Really super-tasty. There was a little wasted drizzle chocolate, though - so I'd lean toward using a little more IN the dough and a little less in the double-boiler. But man, they taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These cookies are a tasty treat with coffee or tea. Not too sweet. After adding the flour mixture the dough would not pull together so I added 2 Tbs of sour cream which worked beautifully. I rolled the dough into a log, rolled the log in colored sprinkles, wrapped in plastic wrap and chilled for an hour in the fridge. Cut the log into 1/4 inch rounds and baked. Had to watch the cooking time so the bottoms would not brown too much. For me these cookies did not need 25 minutes to bake. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were pretty good...I think that my family prefers a softer cookie, so I don't know that I would make these again, but for those who like a crisp cookie, this is a great recipe. I do think that if I made these again, I would cook them for less time than 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was a BIG mistake!!! Why? Because I'm ADDICTED to this recipe! The first time I made it I almost ate the dough before baking, until I discovered how good the finished cookies are. Now I can't stop playing around with the basic recipe. I've made several variations: Chocolate laced, plain, (w/out chocolate) Pecan sandies, Lemon, Lemon Lavender, and I've decorated with frosting and fondant flowers. The dough holds it's shape while baking, so it makes beautiful cutouts and springerle. Wonderful,Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am making these as I type... and I have to say, the dough is definitely not the kind that I can "knead" the chips in. It is very light, soft and more like a drop cookie dough. So I am not sure how I could have possibly made it like this as I was following the directions and the same measurements for the ingredients. Anywho... I am now making them as drop cookies and we'll see how they come out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Very easy to make and taste great, but the dough is a bit on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these with butterscotch chips instead of chocolate and put the whole cup in the dough. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Just okay. I was really hoping that based on the amount of butter that they'd have more of a butter taste, but this didn't end up being the case. I made them for dessert and they were still there when we were ready for bed so apparently my girls weren't super impressed either. I'm sorry, but I just feel like I need to be honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Wonderful recipe, easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States