Choco Shortbreads Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I'm not sure how to judge these.... the dough was very dry, and I think the dough isn't held together properly. Nice flavour, but not best shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
best cookies ever the only thing i changed was i added about 3 shakes of nutmeg and i drizzeled the chocolate on top of the cookies instead putting them inside and i added some nuts to it........ doubling this recipe also works great.... :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by havanasmom82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very easy recipe. Yummy shortbread cookie, with or without the chocolate chips. I only baked cookies for 15 minutes, left them soft on the inside, crispy on outside. My greatest recommendation, double the batch, so you have many more cookies to eat.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was really really easy to make! Everyone at work loved these! They kept asking for more, so next time I will double the recipe! I didn't change anything to the recipe and they came out AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OliviaLuke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Nice buttery shortbread. As mine were for Christmas I added lots of chopped macadamia nuts to the mix and made gingerbread shapes using a cutter, with chocolate piped on for contrast and detail. I quadrupled the recipe and googled for the gram equivalent of 40 TB because the thought of doing that part was a bit daunting! lovely recipe very much like the one I had misplaced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hilary Law
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The taste is GREAT! I didn't give this a full 5 stars because it's a bit dry, as noted by the last reviewer. The shortbread ended up being really light after I baked them. I made several adjustments. I used the recommended amount of butter, but since the dough was dry, i added extra no-sugar added apple sauce to wet it until it was the right cookie-dough consistency. I also added butter extract (equal amount as vanilla) for an extra buttery taste. I omitted the chocolate chips and just rolled them out and cut them into little cute shapes and it made tons of em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
It was very dry and hard to work with. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these with butterscotch chips instead of chocolate and put the whole cup in the dough. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am making these as I type... and I have to say, the dough is definitely not the kind that I can "knead" the chips in. It is very light, soft and more like a drop cookie dough. So I am not sure how I could have possibly made it like this as I was following the directions and the same measurements for the ingredients. Anywho... I am now making them as drop cookies and we'll see how they come out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heatherly
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My first attempt at short bread. I followed the recipe for the dough, and omitted adding the chocolate chips to the mixture. I rolled out on a floured board and cut out heart shapes. Instead of drizzling the melted chips over the cookies after baking, I used a small spatula to spread chocolate over half of the hearts making a heart shaped black and white cookie. A hit with my husband, who was suspicious of shortbread cookies before! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States