Choco-coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
These bars taste very good, but the chocolate dipping part turned into a mess. The coconut mixture was not strong enough to withstand the dipping and kept breaking apart. If anyone has a suggestion or knows how to coat the entire bar in chocolate, please let me know. I think next time I will go with what was suggested and just pour chocolate over the mixture in the pan, chill, then cut. I would give this recipie 4 stars for taste alone, but the chocolate part really frustrated me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Wonderful flavor. Just like the bon-bons I've made before but these are much easier than rolling them into balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
These are great! I found it was much easier to knead the coconut mixture with my hands than to try blending it with a spoon. I also didn't bother cutting them into bars and instead pressed them into a pan and poured about 2.5 cups of melted chocolate chips on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
These take a long time to make. The dipping in the chocolate seemed to take forever. If I make them again I think I will use milk chocolate chips, the semi-sweet seemed too strong. They are good, very much like the Mounds bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
The bars did not work for me so I rolled the coconut mixture into balls and dipped them into the chocolate. Everyone that sampled the candy asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
My husband loved these! Good recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Tasted as good as a Mounds candy bar or better! Next time I make them, I'll try using a smaller pan, so that the filling will be thicker, and I'll cut them into one-inch squares. Hopefully, it will be easier to dip them in the chocolate. Other than that, I wouldn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
This recipe should be illegal:-) My family loves it. I made several batches for Christmas, and I had to sneak some out to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
I really liked these except, I think if I make them again, I would add a little more coconut. I didn't "dip" these as the recipe calls for, I topped them with chocolate as a reviewer suggested. I WOULDN'T do this again since the coconut/condensed milk mixture is a little on the unset side (I even put them in the freezer for awhile) and when topped with chocolate they were messy. SO, follow the recipe but add more coconut than what it says. OH, and I added an almond to the top of each square to make them taste like an almond joy! My husband REALLY liked these! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharms70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
AWESOME :) Just like you said. Good thing I tasted one after I made them. Put them out for a party and poof they were gone!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States