Choco-coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This was very good! I added a whole toasted almond on each piece before dipping, more like a dark chocolate almond joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This is incredible - these taste amazingly like a mounds bar. I scaled this down to 4 servings, and it made 15 good size pieces. Very easy to make. I did make one change: instead of pressing into a pan and cutting the chilled slab into bars, I rolled the coconut mixture into a log, and then cut into pieces. When dipping, I turned the bar over to coat completely, and this made a beautiful swirl over the top of each candy. Note: I did use my hands to mix in the coconut. I amy have used a bit more confectioners' sugar than called for. The mixture was very stiff, and this may have made it easier to dip the pieces in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe! So good.. I just loved it. Atip though.. when dipping the bars, I put them on a small (greased) spatula and then lowered that into my chocolate and used a fork to slide them off. Worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
To die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Very rich and flavorful. Definitely not your every day cookie but will make again for holiday or special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
I am a not very good with making candies, and I think this recipe might have been too involved,I don't know. I didn't have any chocolate chips, so I decided to melt squares of chocolate, and had my own little disasters(not the fault of this recipe) I ended up getting them done, and they look really really bad. They do taste good though. I doubt I'm going to make these again, cuz they are hard to look at(again, not the fault of this recipe) and just too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
These were pretty good, but were more difficult to make than I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
These were a huge hit with my family and my husbands coworkers. I followed another suggestion to press the coconut in a pan and topped with melted chocolate chips and sliced almonds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
These are good but a little messy and time consuming. At first I had a hard time mixing the sugar and milk with a spoon, so I gave up and used my hand. I added more milk because 5 oz. didn't seem like it would have been enough to hold this together. I started out trying to dip the "bars" into the chocolate and found out that if they are not set...it makes a big mess. So I rolled them into balls and had better success that way. Make sure your chocolate isn't too thick...this will make it harder to coat. When all was said and done...these were a hit!! Thanks Debi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Everybody loved these! I tried the dipping method first, but it just wasn't working for me so I pressed the coconut mixture into a 9x11 baking dish and put the melted chocolate (milk chocolate instead of semi sweet) on top with an almond for each bar. Will definitely make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States