Chive and Onion Yogurt and Cream Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was so delicious! We had it on toasted English muffins. I omitted the dried chives as I didn't have any (and anyway, why bother when you can use fresh?), and also, because I couldn't find Greek yogurt, I simply spooned regular yogurt into a coffee filter, and let the moisture drip away. This leaves the yogurt thick and creamy, and not too unlike the Greek stuff. Next time I might add a little finely-minced red onion instead of green. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
YUM!!! This was so light and creamy and not overpowering with onion. I really hate to rate a recipe that I have made many changes to, but I didn't have chives and when I looked for my onion powder I realized I was out. I substituted 1/2 tsp. Adobo seasoning and didn't bother getting chives and it was a HUGE hit at our BBQ yesterday. I served it with Triscuits and many people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Excellent! Made it to serve on bagels and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This is delicious and easy. Used whipped chive flavored cream cheese instead of fresh chives, regular plain yogurt, and added some cucumber since I was going for a Greek type appetizer, and served w/pita bread. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This spread is great and the possibilities are endless! I used fresh chives the first time around and have also made it using green garlic and sage. I really think the key to this spread is buying the greek yogurt - plain yogurt would definitely not be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Have you ever heard of HOVAN. They are in malls and make the best wrap of sorts. I used this on a tortilla, added meat and romaine lettuce, rolled it up, then cut it up in serving size pinwheels. My kids love it and is great for lunchboxes. I didn't have the yogurt but otherwise made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I thought this was an excellent combination, a little healthier than straight cream cheese and tasted great! I did add smoked salmon to the mixture and used fresh rosemary instead of chives. There is a plethora of ingredients that would be great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This stuff is oh so good and great on fresh bagels! I used all fresh chives and omitted the dry plus added a little garlic. I also used light cream cheese. I just love greek yogurt and this was a great way to get more into my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I did not use the dried chives and I increased the onion powder to a full teaspoon. I also added about four cloves minced garlic (after I taste tested) and I used reduced fat cream cheese. Quite good, though I might increase both the onions and fresh chives next time. I plan on using this in The Best Mashed Potatoes for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I added additional seasonings and used it on triscuits. Very good with chopped tomatoes and cucumber on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggixial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States