Chipotle Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I submitted this recipe and the webmasters changed it. I do not add cream and I make mine much healthier. I just use a T or two of butter or spread and steam my sweet potatoes in the microwave in a bag. I love these potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
These are terrific. I tossed the potatoes with olive oil and roasted in covered dish. (Just think it gives a better flavor). Per another review, I used only 1 Tbs. butter. You can also cut the fat by using evaporated milk. Sooo good. Find the chipotles in the Mexican section of your market. The leftover chilies can be placed in Ziploc, squeeze out air and put in freezer for another use. They are great in homemade salsa, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I followed the instructions of the original poster and used a T of butter only and did NOT add any cream. This was delicious and SO EASY! If you dont like spice then cut the pepper ingrediants by half or up the amount of potatos you use. We LOVE spice so we thought it was GREAT! Awesome way to pep up sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I love these two items and never thought to put them together. They mesh so well! I was in a hurry so nuked the sweet potato before mashing and baking but I do like the taste better of potatoes cooked in the oven so will do that next time. Also, I like really spicy food so added extra chipotle. I almost always have sweet potatoes around and since I froze the remaining chipotles in seperate containers I can whip this up on a whim. Will definitely add this to the side dish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We liked these a lot. I followed the submitter's review and left out the cream and only used about 1 T of butter. Next time I think I will reduce the adobos/adobo sauce a bit because it was a tad on the spicy side for us. That's just personal preference, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Awesome idea for mashed potatoes. I followed the submitter's instructions and steamed my potato in the microwave and skipped the cream. I also skipped the butter, and didn't miss it. Just mashed sweet potatoes and chopped chipotle chilies - and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made this to use up some leftover chipotle peppers. Not bad, will defintely make again. Just have to watch the amount of chipotle used if you're not used to spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe--no changes. Nice change from regular mashed--hubby dug it too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarasta2010
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe caught my eye, because it sounded so unusual and I don't like the sweet marshmallow recipes. I was not disappointed; I've made them twice and both times got rave reviews from my guests. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
absolutely delicious. This does not need the cream and less butter is good - still rich tasting and creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States