Chipotle Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I have never liked sweet potatoes, but I decided to make this for Thanksgiving. After the first bite, my mouth was on fire, but I LOVE this recipe. I think I should have only added one pepper for my guests who don't like spicy as much as I do, but I thought the recipe got even hotter and better after a day in the frig - great leftovers! I will make this often from now on. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made these a few times and just made them for Thanksgiving and they were a hit - I only gave them four stars because I think the called-for amount of chipotles and adobo sauce is a bit much but it depends on taste. I halve it and it's plenty spicy, without overpowering the natural flavor of the sweet potatoes. I leave everything else as is, half & half etc. and they are terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good! Followed the recipe. Using 2 peppers, they have a nice kick. Will definatley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
These are terrific. I tossed the potatoes with olive oil and roasted in covered dish. (Just think it gives a better flavor). Per another review, I used only 1 Tbs. butter. You can also cut the fat by using evaporated milk. Sooo good. Find the chipotles in the Mexican section of your market. The leftover chilies can be placed in Ziploc, squeeze out air and put in freezer for another use. They are great in homemade salsa, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I love these two items and never thought to put them together. They mesh so well! I was in a hurry so nuked the sweet potato before mashing and baking but I do like the taste better of potatoes cooked in the oven so will do that next time. Also, I like really spicy food so added extra chipotle. I almost always have sweet potatoes around and since I froze the remaining chipotles in seperate containers I can whip this up on a whim. Will definitely add this to the side dish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I followed the instructions of the original poster and used a T of butter only and did NOT add any cream. This was delicious and SO EASY! If you dont like spice then cut the pepper ingrediants by half or up the amount of potatos you use. We LOVE spice so we thought it was GREAT! Awesome way to pep up sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I submitted this recipe and the webmasters changed it. I do not add cream and I make mine much healthier. I just use a T or two of butter or spread and steam my sweet potatoes in the microwave in a bag. I love these potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States