Chipotle Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We all loved these potatoes. I made them exactly as stated. We have also used this recipe for double stuffed potatoes, even better. They have a nice bite without being too much, great for a bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gainer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I scaled the recipe down, and unfortunately managed to forget the cilantro, but did add bacon - which is a great counterpoint to the smoky spiciness of chipotles, IMO. I also used roasted garlic instead of fresh, and will definitely make this dish again. *Update* - and again, and again - this is a go-to in my house now, I just love it. But I have to give a warning about chipotles in adobo - they seem to have been getting hotter and hotter with each can, it seems. So make sure to start slowly, adding more as necessary to bring the potatoes up to your preferred heat level. And while I don't seed my chipotles, you might if you are more spice-sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this for Christmas. EVERYBODY loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I used 2 large potatoes and halved everything else in the recipe. I took out the seeds in the chipotle but might leave half the seeds next time. I was afraid it would be too spicy if I left the seeds but they weren't. Maybe using all the chipotle seeds would have been too much though. Used all white cheddar cheese but I think any cheese would have been good in these potatoes. Excellent potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
amazing! 1 pepper for mild; 2 for spicy; 2 + sauce for caliente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a super spicy smashed potato recipie. So if you like spicy you will probably like this. I made it for a work function and everyone raved! I did mark it spicy. I made it just the way it reads and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
So delicious! A nice twist on classic mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I, for once, have nothing to add to this. Fantastic in all regards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Delicious! We will be making these quite often. My husband loves all things chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Absolutely loved this, even after deciding to leave out the mayo and cut the amount of cheese and cream in half (to make it a bit healthier, even though I did end up adding another tablespoon of butter). I would definitely make the "full fat" version as stated for a party, the flavors are just wonderful and you can adjust the amount of chipotle pepper you want in there if you don't like spicy food. Thanks for sharing, I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States