Chipotle Shrimp Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
A great quick and easy recipe. I made a HUGE mistake the first time around though. Instead of putting just ONE chipotle chile in it..i put like 5. OMG do not do this! AND I added jalapeños. See..I love spicy foods...but I didn't realize the adobo sauce is spicy and so when mixed with jalapeños..it is way too hot!!!!!! So just put in ONE chipotle chile...cook down the onion so they are sweet. My version: I add in the chipotle chile, sun dried tomatoes, onion, (turkey bacon optional) and add the cilantro at the last minute so the cilantro flavor isn't cooked down and stays fresh. Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Perfect as is. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These are delicious! I did not have the chipotle peppers, and I made the sauce from the "Lime Chicken with Cilantro Cream Sauce and Roasted Zucchini" recipe to serve with it along with some chopped cherry tomatoes and avocado. They were a HUGE hit. My husband said they were my best ever. Not bad for stumbling on this recipe while searching for something to do with my leftover cooked shrimp. (Btw, I cooked my shrimp by boiling them for just a few minutes. When they were done, I added a little bit of lemon juice.) Fortunately the shrimp didn't become overcooked when I added them to the bacon, but I was careful not to leave them on the heat for too long. Make 'em - they're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was delicious! Used 1lb shrimp and 1 pepper with a teaspoon of sauce. Then made the Cilantro cream sauce with more peppers and sauce. Perfect touch heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
We love these in our house. They can be very spicy if you are not careful. I always serve ours on corn tortillas with sour cream that is mixed with lime juice and a little of the adobo sauce from the chipotles and shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Yikes. I had high hopes for this b/c of all the great reviews but this just wasn't good. Not sure if it was the adobo sauce stuff or the bacon but it just didn't mesh well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was very good....and very very spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Fantastic! Enjoyed this so much! No changes made at all. Served with avacados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
So good! I never would have thought to add bacon to shrimp tacos, but this is the only way I'm doing it from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
UPDATE: MADE THESE AGAIN WITH A MUCH BETTER OUTCOME THIS TIME AROUND. I FRIED MY ONION AND BACON TOGETHER, DRAINED WELL AND THEN PROCEEDED AS DIRECTED. I REALLY THINK THIS MADE A HUGE DIFFERENCE. I ALSO SERVED THIS IN SIFT CORN TORTILLAS AND GARNISHED WITH CILANTRO, AVOCADO SLICES AND A GENEROUS SQUIRT OF FRESH LIME JUICE. DO NOT SKIP THE LIME. IT NOT ONLY WILL KEEP YOUR AVOCADO FROM BROWNING (SHOULD YOU DECIDE TO ADD IT), IT DIES DOUBLE DUTY TO HELP NEUTRALIZE THE HEAT! FANTASTIC!!! I'm not sure about these. On the contrary, my hubby couldn't get enough! For me, the flavor of this was very one-dimensional. Surprisingly, I couldn't taste the bacon at all or, for that matter, any smokiness from it (which, to my surprise, my huby RAVED about). All I could taste was underseasoned shrimp and a bit of bite from the chipotle pepppers every now and then. NOTE: I found 3 chipotles and a few t chipotle sauce to be spot on. Sometimes, I'd get a SUPER hot bite, but most of the time, the heat was palatable. Since my hubby is BEGGING me to make these again, I feel it's not fair to give up altogether, but it will be a while before I do. Served on tostada shells with fresh pico de gallo, cubed avocado and chopped cilantro garnishes and black beans / Mexican rice on the side. Of course my hubby thinks this is the best thing I've ever made (he bragged about our meal to all of his co-workers hahaha)! Thanks anyways, rvelasquez. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States