Chipotle Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've made these 3 or 4 times, and this year my husband requested them for his birthday, which is the true test for sweets! We love the flavors so I added some extra lemon and chipotle. The ratio of crust to custard is a little too high for my taste, so I'm working on scaling the recipe up but I'm no expert and haven't quite gotten it right. No one will complain if I practice a few more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Loved these bars, wonderful change of pace from the regular lemon bar. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My family loves lemon bars and chipotle but we just couldn't finish one of these. The texture was great so maybe I will just use it as a lemon bar recipe without the chipotle pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
The crust is enough for two 9" pans so I doubled the rest of the recipe. The only substitution I made was mango for the apricot preserves. That's a really nice touch, and the custard is good. However, the chipotle is overpowering. I LIKE chipotle and was tempted to add more after reading the other reviews but didn't for a first try. Very harsh tasting. I'll save the crust (but halve it) and I'll save the custard (but tweak it). I have tons of leftovers and that never happens with my crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These rule -- I made them with cayenne and upped the volume of pepper and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I really liked the surprising kick from the chipotle. It is not overwhelming either. I used the entire baking time, because at 35 minutes I could tell it hadn't set. A few more and it was perfect. The last step of the recipe can be reduced though. The 1/3 cup powdered sugar and the 1/2 tsp of the chipotle can be halved. I used it all and it makes the bar harder to eat as a bar. It requires a fork and a plate. When I make it next I will only use a dusting of that part. It's more fun to eat with your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
i was a little skeptical at first... but wow, these were really good! I almost reduced the amount of chipotle, but I am glad I didn't. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This recipe is excellent!! This is the first time I ever made lemon squares and my husband went crazy over these. The chili powder gives it something extra special. I had to substitue some orange marmalade because I didn't have enough of the apricot and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States