Chipotle Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My husband and I both LOVED this. I followed other's suggestions and used 1/2 the can of chipolte peppers (deseeded). It came out with a nice flavor but was not too spicy. I also used 1/2 cup sour cream instead of 2tbsp to marinate and read the recipe wrong and left it in the fridge overnight. The next day, I baked the chicken at 350 for 30 minutes. In the saucepan I put the sour cream from the cooked chicken, 1/4 c chicken broth, a can of corn, a can of black beans & a 10 oz package of frozen spinach. Served over a bed of whole grain rice. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I'm giving this 5 stars because my husband absolutely loved it! The rest of the family (including me) give it 4 stars because it was so hot... wow! Great smoky flavor, but just beware this has some intense heat. I did add frozen corn and green beans to the recipe and reduced the spinach by 1/2. The kids and I used extra sour cream at the table to cut the fire. I also made cornbread which was a nice addition. Oh, as another reviewer mentioned, the time under the broiler wasn't nearly long enough to cook the chicken... I ended up baking it for an additional 30 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Wow, what a great recipe! I used the full amount of peppers (including seeds), and it was about as hot as we can comfortably eat, will use slightly less next time. Best advice in other reviews was to use corn instead of spinach -- the corn and sour cream sauce really makes this whole dish come alive, and I normally won't even touch sour cream. We served this with refried beans & shredded cheese, which were perfect to cool down your mouth between bites! Definitely try this recipe; even if you want to cut way down on the peppers, the flavor will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I am sorry, but this was the single worst recipe I have found on allrecipies.com! I LOVE spicy food and had a can of chipolte peppers on hand, so I thought that I would try it. The spinach (I really like spinach!) was inedible and the chicken was only salvaged by adding tons of melted cheddar cheese. Sorry guys....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS.SUSAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I definitely used too many peppers. I cooked for two and used the same amount of peppers the recipe called for with 4 servings because we both love spicy food. It was my first time cooking with chipotle peppers, and I had know idea jalapenos could be that spicy. Fire. I will definitely try this recipe again, but even as a spice-lover who asks for everything extra hot, I may use only half a can of peppers or less next time. Also, I used frozen corn instead of spinach. This gave it a sweetness that made the chipotle taste yum. I see corn more often in Mexican dishes, so it made it a little more authentic-looking. It was very pretty with the yellow corn, red peppers, and orangy sour cream sauce. Try this, but watch out for the heat factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
I love chipolte but never seem to have a use for the whole can so I decided to look up chipolte on allrecipes. WOW and YUM! I took the advise of it being spicy and knocked off the seeds (good advise). I also used a frozen box EACH of spinach, green beans & corn with a bit extra broth. I put the mixture from broiling (including chicken) in the pan with all this and simmered on stovetop for awhile. This seemed to use it all up in the just right proportion so I think using just the spinach might not be enough for the sauce. But I don't think you can go too wrong no matter how you make it because this is so wonderful for people who love a smokey spicy flavor. Next time I will add cornbread and leave the corn out of the main dish. Thanks so much for this EASY, EASY recipe! Oh yes, I only had time to marinate an hour and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I altered the recipe somewhat. I used half the can of peppers (without seeds) and froze the remainder for another time. After marinating, we grilled the chicken. I sauted the spinich in the marinade with broth. I added the sour cream in at the end. My husband and I LOVED IT!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This was very tasty, but a little too hot even though we eat lots of spicy food. Next time I would only use half the chipotle called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was soooo good!!! We had a cookout and everyone said how incredible this chicken was. I started out with a cajun based chicken breast. This was delicious and my husband has already asked for me to make it again and the leftovers aren't even gone yet!!! Thanks again!!!! I made this with the angel hair pasta salad (very easy too) and it complimented the chicken wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
The chicken flavor was quite good, but we didn't care for the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States