Chipotle Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Although tasty, this just didn't wow me. In all fairness, I did make quite a few changes (hence my 4 star rating). As lateacher did, I also made this in my slow cooker. Where I went terribly wrong was following her advice to add the ENTIRE can of chipotle peppers to my soup. My husband commented that the soup itself was spicier than the sauce I made with the onion, garlic and reserved peppers! There was certainly NO need to add any of it to our soup! Thankfully, the cilantro and a hefty squirt of lime tamed most of the heat. Without them, we would have had to order pizza for dinner. :( I usually follow a new recipe to the letter (or only make slight changes to it) and am regretting I didn't this time. All in all, this was good but I'd bet it would be even better as written. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rhayc! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This recipe wasn't a hit at my house, although I can't quite put my finger on why. I think it was too spicy for my toddler (which is fine, it was perfectly spiced for the adults). We are normally pretty big chipotle fans, but we were just generally underwhelmed by this soup and didn't end up finishing the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe, it was super. I used chicken broth instead of water and used 2 Tbs of adobo sauce to give a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was a yummy soup. I make a chicken tortilla soup often and wanted to give this a try for the chipotle twist. No problems with making the recipe, but why would you add sauce without the canned chipotle pepper it comes with? I used some of the sauce along with a big pepper chopped up. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I chopped up two chilies in addition to the adobo sauce. I also threw in some bacon. My husband liked it a lot when I made it and LOVED it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was very tasty. I boiled frozen chicken breasts in water seasoned with cumin and dried cilantro, and then shredded the chicken. I also used all the juices in the chipotle pepper can, and lightened the flavor with lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
WOW!! This soup is indescribable!!! Totally delish. I put in more garlic 'cuz I like garlic, and added NO water, but did everything else the same. You will LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Chipotle Chicken Soup Haiku: "Wow, was this tasty! Don't skimp on the cilantro. This one's a keeper!" To elaborate, this recipe's good on its own, but brings the "shazam!" with my 2 small additions of a heaping TB of "Taco Seasoning I" recipe from here, as well as a diced bell pepper. Garnished with a scoop of sour cream, a sprinkle of grated cheddar, and a handful of crushed tortilla chips, and this soup'll slay your tastebuds with its sensual spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I tried this recipe this past weekend. My son and husband were very skeptical but I assured them it would be good. I topped it with a sprinkle of cheese and served it with tortilla chips. They were astounded! Fabulous!!!! :) Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alden, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I love this soup and appreciate that it is so easily customizable. I have used leftover turkey breast in place of chicken, and a can of chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water. I also find this is a great soup to cook in the crock pot. Just toss everything in and come back in a few hours. My husband likes it a bit more stew like so the last few times I have used cornstarch tempered in the broth to thicken it up a bit. But great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States