Chip Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I've been trying for ages to make my favourite dip from the supermarket. With two small changes this recipe did the trick. I left out the worcester sauce and used chives instead of the onion. Just what I wanted and much cheaper too. Thankyou so much SUSAN ANN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I added only 1 TB of grated onion for a more subtle flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLYONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
So quick to make! Tastes good and uses ingredients normally on hand. Use a little less onion and let it sit in the fridge for an hour for the flavours to mellow. Went over very well with the football crowd...but you need to like the taste of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was really good. The cream cheese adds more depth to the flavor. Used a sprinking of onion powder instead of the onion and it wasn't too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
We used to make this dip often when I was a kid, only we added some catsup. It is still my favorite but I really like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
great dip and so easy, I used fresh chives instead of onion and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Pretty good. I thinned it with a bunch of extra milk. I also used onion powder instead of real onions. If I were making it for a party or something I might use real onion, but just for me for a snack it wasn't worth the effort. I also added a couple dashes of pepper to it. Pretty good recipe and probably slightly healthier than my standard sour cream and onion soup mix concoction. Just a tip, I know some were using chives you could also use green onion (scallion) or even shallot to temper the onion flavour a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I'm giving this five stars for ease to deliciousness ratio. I didn't have to run to the store to get any special ingredients just to have it sit in my cabinet/refrigerator never to be used again. I used super cheap store brand chips to dip in this and it was really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I always use worchestershire sauce in my onion dip! A suggestion, if you don't have fresh onion, dried chopped onions are great in this! I also use half sour cream and half cream cheese in mine. If you use the dried onion, make at least 1/2 hour before serving to give the onions a chance to reconstitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
too much worchestershire sauce. Very oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States