Chinky's Puto Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A nice Filipino Sweet Bread. I read up on it online before making and learned that cheese is served on top and with HB eggs on side sometimes. Yes more cooking time was needed/ use your cake testers. Yes it was hard to get out of pan. And there was some good steaming going on. Will try again but maybe grease/nonstick spray the loaf or muffin pans first. In the end a nice ethnic food, and the cheese on top was not bad with a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Followed the directions completely, save for the fact that I used regular flour not cake flour. They turned out beautifully and my husband couldn't get enough of them--neither could I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is a good recipe. Following the instructions, I baked half of the mix resulting in dry, crumbly puto. However, the steamed version in mini muffin pans was a success. I'm still missing the lightness reminiscent of puto back home, and will try a recipe that calls for rice flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These weren't done in 15 minutes like the recipe states...they were not even done in 30 minutes! The middle of each one was caved in, and fell apart when I tried to remove them from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
my mum usually makes this recipe and steams it instead, i find it usually keeps the cake moist (but u need to remove it from the tin before it cools otherwise it sticks)....by steaming it...normal milk was used instead of evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I LOVED the flavor of these, but they were SO crumly I couldn't get them out of the pan, they just fell apart. Any ideas as to what I did wrong???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ignacio, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Easy and tasty...Just like mom used to make...my kids requested I make it for their bday cake! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Really easy to make! It's a bit sweet though so I recommend using just 1 cup of sugar. The end result is really crumbly, which makes it very different from the real puto, but the level of difficulty makes up for its' texture. Worth baking again but in a smaller batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Following the ridiculously simple recipe, I turned out a batch of puto that I could not keep away from friends. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States