Chinese-Style Steamed Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I didn't have a steamer or cabbage so I took the suggestion to use chicken broth with grated ginger, garlic, pepper flakes, soy sauce but no add'l water. I used more mushrooms,('cause I love 'em)but everything else the same. Cooks fast (5 min.) and my family loved it! Next time I would go with 2lbs. of halibut for our family of three. Hubby and I were fighting over the last piece. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I was going to submit an almost identical recipe. I don't have a steamer though so this is how I do it. I put about 1 tbs grated ginger and 2 cloves garlic in pan warm in 1 cup warm chicken broth for about 1-2 min when comes to boil add about 2tbs soy sause, add catfish cover with sliced mushrooms and diagonally cut green onions spoon broth over fish cover cook about 5 min. FABULOUS. SUPER EASY. LOW CAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I made this with catfish because here in the landlocked midwest it was half the price of halibut. I LOVED this dish. The nappa cabbage and mushrooms were lovely and delicate. This taste almost better the next day. Make sure not to undercook fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This recipe is as it says: easy to prepare and hard to mess up. I used this on a Japanese bass and it turned out perfectly. I was a little more generous with the soy sauce than the recipe called for and spread the ginger throughout the fish -- inside and out. One additional tip: make 1" vertical slices along the length of the fish (both sides) to allow the flavor to really get into the fish. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I made this last night and it was delicious! Fresh, wonderful flavor and low-cal! Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Excellent, tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
It was simple to make and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I made this for myself and my father tonight and we liked it a lot! And he likes fried fish but I said we have to eat healthier. He said I could make it again anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I followed Cookinmum review and it came quite nice. I added some extra mushrooms and next time I will add some lemon and more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
So tasty! This was awesome! I made this in my veg steamer and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States