Chinese-Style Steamed Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I was going to submit an almost identical recipe. I don't have a steamer though so this is how I do it. I put about 1 tbs grated ginger and 2 cloves garlic in pan warm in 1 cup warm chicken broth for about 1-2 min when comes to boil add about 2tbs soy sause, add catfish cover with sliced mushrooms and diagonally cut green onions spoon broth over fish cover cook about 5 min. FABULOUS. SUPER EASY. LOW CAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I followed Cookinmum review and it came quite nice. I added some extra mushrooms and next time I will add some lemon and more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I made this for myself and my father tonight and we liked it a lot! And he likes fried fish but I said we have to eat healthier. He said I could make it again anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Mattson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I didn't have a steamer or cabbage so I took the suggestion to use chicken broth with grated ginger, garlic, pepper flakes, soy sauce but no add'l water. I used more mushrooms,('cause I love 'em)but everything else the same. Cooks fast (5 min.) and my family loved it! Next time I would go with 2lbs. of halibut for our family of three. Hubby and I were fighting over the last piece. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
So tasty! This was awesome! I made this in my veg steamer and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This recipe is as it says: easy to prepare and hard to mess up. I used this on a Japanese bass and it turned out perfectly. I was a little more generous with the soy sauce than the recipe called for and spread the ginger throughout the fish -- inside and out. One additional tip: make 1" vertical slices along the length of the fish (both sides) to allow the flavor to really get into the fish. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I made this with catfish because here in the landlocked midwest it was half the price of halibut. I LOVED this dish. The nappa cabbage and mushrooms were lovely and delicate. This taste almost better the next day. Make sure not to undercook fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
It was simple to make and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I made this last night and it was delicious! Fresh, wonderful flavor and low-cal! Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Excellent, tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States