Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Fantastic! Tasted exactly like the sesame chicken I get at the restaurant. I couldn't find chile paste so I substituted 1 TBL salsa and a few drops of hot sauce. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I absolutely love this recipe...it makes stir fry a lot better...my friends love it so much and beg me to make for them all of the time plus they all got the recipe from me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I prepared this sauce last night and mixed it in with stir fried chicken breast and onions. It was GREAT!! I would recommend this sauce to anyone who enjoys food with an Asian flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Just awesome! I did make a few changes (didn't have some things in the house): used all water instead of chicken broth and water, used 1/3 cup toasted sesame seeds instead of the sesame oil, and used 3 tablespoons of chili garlic paste instead of the paste and garlic. My husband liked it so much he dumped all the leftover rice in the saucepan and ate it standing up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This recipe ROCKS!!! It is easy to make and totally addictive to eat and share with family and friends. Of course you can marinate your chicken or whatever little changes you want to make to make it your own, but, get this...it works great with pork too! No kidding! Thanks to reykjaviky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Very good sauce. I added cooked bite sz. pcs. of boneless chicken breast for a Chicken Sesame Dish and served with rice. I added an additional tsp. of chili paste for just a bit more kick! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This was excellent. I found that for a little over a pound of chicken (stirfried) I only needed a little over a third of this sauce. I froze the rest...I hope it freezes well. I also added 1 Tbsp of toasted sesame seeds to the chicken/sauced dish. VERY GOOD. Reminiscent of food court chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Oh wow. I made this yesterday, it came out sooooo good! Sesame Chicken is my favorite, but I hate that it's fried. I just like the sauce. I was able to make this a little healthier by using "Lite" soy sauce, and sodium-free chicken broth. I didn't have chile paste, so I used powder. I also was out of fresh garlic, so I used a powder there as well. It still came out wonderful. I can't wait to try this without substitutions! I made the sauce, then put 4 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a baking dish. I poured the sauce over them (all of it), and baked for about an hour at 275-300. Served with chicken-flavored rice. Everyone loved it, even my 3 and 5 year old kids (and a fellow student at school who finished mine off!). I will definitely use this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
While the base of this sauce allows for freedom to experiment, as it stands I thought it was WAY WAY WAY TOO SWEET!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will cut the amount of sugar in half. I used it to stir fry some chicken and vegetables, but it didn't taste too authentic to me. Next time I'll add some ginger, scallions, and more soy sauce. Not bad to start with, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
It's very sweet, tasted kind of good while warm, but what am I supposed to do with it? I can't imagine pouring this over anything...lest of all, broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States