Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This sauce is VERY good. We added some dry roasted sesame seeds to give more texture. The only thing we didn't like about it was that it's too sweet for our taste. It was also a little too thick. We will definately make this again, and experiment with some combination of less sugar/more vinegar/less cornstarch. We put this on fried eggplant and tofu and it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I went out and bought sesame oil just for this recipe. I wanted to try it SO bad. My husband liked it enough, but I found the flavor of the oil to be WAY TOO strong. It also got a bit too thick, so might want to back off on the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSENFAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
The sauce was actually quite good for home made. I might use less sesame oil next time as the flavor was very strong. I used a litte less corn starch than called for so it wasn't too thick. All in all this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Excellent sauce! It does not get any better than this recipe! This is truly an authentic recipe! We use 1/4 cup of vinegar but this is just our taste preference. We use it for sesame chicken and it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I omitted the sugar and replaced it with 1/2 c of Equal Lite- I also left out the oil and chile paste, I dont like hot foods. After my alterations I thought this recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
ended up totally deviating from the base recipe, but it was a very helpful start! Honestly, i had about 30 different ingrediants and spices lined up and ended up doing a pinch here and there of everything, tasting it every 5 seconds. To complex to re-write, but next time I attempt this sauce, i will take note of what i change, and will post it. Thanks for the great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This sauce is a really good base. I took the Splenda suggestion and used only 1/3 cup in place of the sugar. I omitted the oil altogether. I also used a little more chicken broth (1 1/2 cups)and added 1/4 tsp. onion powder, 1/4 tsp. ginger, 1 Tbs. coarse salt, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and the zest from one orange. Overall, this is an excellent sauce to start with and steer to your personal tastes. There were raves around the dinner table tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Very nice. i added less cornstarch after reading the previous reviews, and only used 1/2 cup sugar. After tasting, i added some ginger, and a few scallions. Poured over S/B chicken and oven roasted, plated over rice, topped with more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Loved it! I followed what some reviewers said about it being too sweet. So I used only a 1/4 cup of splenda. Yes, I used splenda and it turned out awesome. Will even make it for a large party. It's so easy. I poured the sauce over cooked brocolli and pan fried tofu and served it over rice. After making it a few times I realized that if I use only 1/8 cup of cornstarch it's a better consistency and it's not as thick. I would suggest making these two changes, then it would definitely be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I have never cooked with Sesame Oil but love Sesame chicken so thought I would give this a try. I used another recipe from this site for the chicken and then made this sauce. I cut the sugar in half as others have suggested but I didn't care for the sauce at all. As soon as it cooled it turned into a hard gelatin and didn't soften up much even after being microwaved. I don't think I'll be cooking with sesame oil anymore. Nobody in our family liked it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States