Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We have loved this recipe every time I've made it. I have substituted ground red pepper for the chili paste and have replaced half the sugar with splenda. It's still a "keeper" with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe is only 2 stars as written. I took others suggestions and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also cut the 1/8 cup corn starch. I didn't have chili paste so I used garlic chili sauce. I used rice vinegar instead of white. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I tasted the sauce before using it. I then added 1 TBS ginger, extra garlic and a 1/2 TBS more chili sauce, plus some red pepper flakes. I tossed it with sauteed chicken and broccoli. I also added some toasted sesame seeds on top at the end. It was good, but next time I will try fresh ginger and even more garlic. It is four stars with the modifications. I don't think it was salty like others rated. I only used reduced sodium chicken broth, maybe that was others problem. I did use full sodium soy sauce, which I usually don't use. Not salty at all. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My husband and kids love this! It is a quick meal when you use leftover chicken (nuggets?)and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
One of my favorite chinese dishes is Sesame Chicken. I was delighted when found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Tastes just like restaurant sauce. I used Splenda instead of sugar and only one Tbsp. of sesame sauce. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very good! Nice and sweet and thick. Recipe makes quite a bit, so plan for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Super easy, super good! Just like our local Chinese restaurant.Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I couldn't find Chili Paste, so I used Sweet Chili Sauce (a very sweet and mild sauce good for dipping) and added some cayenne pepper for a bit more kick and cut back the sugar (used Splenda) to half. Turned out great! I used the sauce with some chicken I cubed, lightly coated with cornstarch and browned in a skillet with butter flavored Pam. Served over rice with some toasted sesame seeds. I've since bought Hot Chili Sauce to sub out the chili paste and plan to try it next time in the recipe. (I've been to several stores and still can't find any chili paste, but will continue the search as this is one of our favorite meals to have at the local chinese diner)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Good Tasting Recipe, I Totally agree with everyone else on the sugar. I thought my teeth were going to fall out after. I substited the Chile Paste with 1 tablespoon garlic chili sauce i had in the fridge. It Gave it a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States