Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Super easy, super good! Just like our local Chinese restaurant.Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I couldn't find Chili Paste, so I used Sweet Chili Sauce (a very sweet and mild sauce good for dipping) and added some cayenne pepper for a bit more kick and cut back the sugar (used Splenda) to half. Turned out great! I used the sauce with some chicken I cubed, lightly coated with cornstarch and browned in a skillet with butter flavored Pam. Served over rice with some toasted sesame seeds. I've since bought Hot Chili Sauce to sub out the chili paste and plan to try it next time in the recipe. (I've been to several stores and still can't find any chili paste, but will continue the search as this is one of our favorite meals to have at the local chinese diner)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Good Tasting Recipe, I Totally agree with everyone else on the sugar. I thought my teeth were going to fall out after. I substited the Chile Paste with 1 tablespoon garlic chili sauce i had in the fridge. It Gave it a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I tweaked this quite a bit. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and about 1/8 cup corn starch. It was perfect this way! Much better than the orange syrup you get at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Definitely a good base sauce, I too followed the advice of others and only added 1/4 cup sugar along with less cornstarch. The consistency was perfect and the taste was just about right. I combined the ingredients and then added the cooked chicken and steamed broccoli. After the sauce thickened, served over white rice...east and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Wonderful recipe! However, I could not find chile paste in the store. As a substitute, I used 2 teaspoons of sweet chile sauce, and 1 teaspoon of Tabasco sauce. I like my sauce quite a bit spicy, so I added even more hot sauce after simmering, then tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful base sauce. I made it last night and my husband devoured it. I do agree with other reviewers that a cup of sugar is way too much. Luckily I read a lot of reviews before making it. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and it was still a little too sweet. I added garlic chile sauce instead of chile paste and minced garlic. It was just easier. I also reduced the cornstarch to 2 tbsp. The thickness was perfect. I can't wait to make again with some different adjustments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've been trying to reproduce the flavor of take-out Sesame Chicken. This sauce is as close as I have come. I think that next time, I'll put less sesame oil. That flavor came out a bit more than the restaurant style. But, I have something to work with. I didn't think that the sauce was too sweet, but, the take-out Chinese Sesame chicken is VERY sweet. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
i thought it was very easy. i cut down the sugar and cornstarch and still thought it was a little to sweet so i added more soy sauce and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States