Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This sauce had good flavor...once I made a few adjustments as suggested by other posters. (after making a batch and pitching it ~ therefore only 3 stars) 1 cup of sugar is way too much. I used 1/4 cup and I used Splenda. Much better. I used all chicken broth, no water. I used Thai Chili/Garlic sauce instead of the chile paste and garlic. I added 1 teaspoon of ginger paste. This recipe said it makes 4 servings...huge servings maybe. LOL This makes about 2 cups of sauce. I only used 1/2 of it to feed my family of 5. I don't like my chicken to be swimming in the sauce. I will be making this again with the above adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was really easy and really good. I used vegetable broth and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This sauce was really good even though I did not have chili paste or sesame oil. I followed everything else and used it as a stir-fry sauce. I will definitely use this again, but add maybe half the sugar. Without the chili paste or sesame oil it is more a a sweet and sour sauce, and a good one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I used this sauce when I made sesame tofu and it does taste like the restaurant's sesame sauce. Try not to heat it up too quickly though, it will turn from a soup to a paste very fast. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This sauce is excellent. However, I found it to be extremely thick. Too thick for my purposes, so next time I will decrease the amount of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
As it were, I took the advice of many and started with half the sugar and less cornstarch. I tasted it and found it to be lacking in... something. I then added whatever I could to make this tastier. I ended up adding: more garlic, more sesame oil, more soy, some chinese 5 spice powder, hot pepper flakes, some hoisin sauce I found in the fridge, some lemon juice, and still in the end I thought it was allright, However, the husband and the 5 year old thought it was really good. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiepickleshoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I think it should note in this recipe that you should make this right before you put this on your meat/tofu/vegetable. I made this before I made my chicken and the sauce turned into a sort of jelly. I am not sure if that had to do with the fact that I cut the sugar in half, but nonethelss, it was an odd consistency. The taste, however, was good, and overall my meal turned out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I wish I could have given more stars!Was a little sweet so will cut down on sugar next time.Was a big hit with everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Billiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was VERY GOOD. I served it with chicken and vegetables over a bed of rice and it was Yummy! My husband and my son (very picky) had seconds. I didn't change anything except I used 1/4 cup of Splenda as suggested by other reviews, and I used ground red pepper instead of chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was terrible. Granted, I couldn't fine "chile paste" so substituted "chili sauce" but it looked NOTHING like the sauce pictured, and tasted NOTHING like any sesame sauce I've ever had at a Chinese restaurant. I couln't even eat it - the smell bothered me too much, but my fiance thought it was just ok and ate some of it. I don't know if I did something wrong (although I was very careful about following the recipe) or it's just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States