Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I used this sauce when I made sesame tofu and it does taste like the restaurant's sesame sauce. Try not to heat it up too quickly though, it will turn from a soup to a paste very fast. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This sauce is excellent. However, I found it to be extremely thick. Too thick for my purposes, so next time I will decrease the amount of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
As it were, I took the advice of many and started with half the sugar and less cornstarch. I tasted it and found it to be lacking in... something. I then added whatever I could to make this tastier. I ended up adding: more garlic, more sesame oil, more soy, some chinese 5 spice powder, hot pepper flakes, some hoisin sauce I found in the fridge, some lemon juice, and still in the end I thought it was allright, However, the husband and the 5 year old thought it was really good. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiepickleshoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I think it should note in this recipe that you should make this right before you put this on your meat/tofu/vegetable. I made this before I made my chicken and the sauce turned into a sort of jelly. I am not sure if that had to do with the fact that I cut the sugar in half, but nonethelss, it was an odd consistency. The taste, however, was good, and overall my meal turned out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I wish I could have given more stars!Was a little sweet so will cut down on sugar next time.Was a big hit with everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Billiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was VERY GOOD. I served it with chicken and vegetables over a bed of rice and it was Yummy! My husband and my son (very picky) had seconds. I didn't change anything except I used 1/4 cup of Splenda as suggested by other reviews, and I used ground red pepper instead of chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was terrible. Granted, I couldn't fine "chile paste" so substituted "chili sauce" but it looked NOTHING like the sauce pictured, and tasted NOTHING like any sesame sauce I've ever had at a Chinese restaurant. I couln't even eat it - the smell bothered me too much, but my fiance thought it was just ok and ate some of it. I don't know if I did something wrong (although I was very careful about following the recipe) or it's just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We have loved this recipe every time I've made it. I have substituted ground red pepper for the chili paste and have replaced half the sugar with splenda. It's still a "keeper" with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe is only 2 stars as written. I took others suggestions and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also cut the 1/8 cup corn starch. I didn't have chili paste so I used garlic chili sauce. I used rice vinegar instead of white. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I tasted the sauce before using it. I then added 1 TBS ginger, extra garlic and a 1/2 TBS more chili sauce, plus some red pepper flakes. I tossed it with sauteed chicken and broccoli. I also added some toasted sesame seeds on top at the end. It was good, but next time I will try fresh ginger and even more garlic. It is four stars with the modifications. I don't think it was salty like others rated. I only used reduced sodium chicken broth, maybe that was others problem. I did use full sodium soy sauce, which I usually don't use. Not salty at all. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My husband and kids love this! It is a quick meal when you use leftover chicken (nuggets?)and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States