Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I made this recipe as written, it is Very Sweet. I will make it again but I will cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. I served my sauce with a stir fry of veggies and chicken breast over rice. It was a big hot but all agreed way to sweet. We look forward to having it again and expect it to taste great after modifications. I gave it 4 stars because I think it is good and has the potential to be a great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin mix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
The first time I made this, I was in a huge hurry to get supper on the table, and mistakenly read '1/4 cup cornstarch' as '1/4 cup cornsyrup'! After it had been simmering for a few minutes, I noticed it wasn't thickening up like I imagined it would. I didn't waste time pondering over the wee mystery, though, and instead simply added a tablespoon or so of honey and some watered down cornstarch. Only the second time I made this sauce --- Today --- Did I realise my mistake! However, it turned out brilliantly the first time, so I simply repeated my mistake a second time, and once more, it was absolutely delicious! The only other changes I made was omit the chile paste, and use beef consommé in place of the chicken stock to suit what we had in our pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I can't believe how good this sauce is! I just made it, ahead of time for dinner, and I can't wait until my family gets to eat it. I didn't have chili paste or fresh garlic, so I subbed with 1 tsp. sriracha sauce and 1/4 tsp. of garlic powder. If you like Chinese food, you have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
A really easy recipe that works well as a dip with asian appetizers. I didn't change a thing. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I love this and add orange juice and xest to it to make orange sauce. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I made this exactly as it says, just doubled and it was AWESOME! I coated some chicken pieces in corn starch and fried them then put them in the sauce. To make it spicy (basically General Tso's Chicken) I added 1-2 extra teaspoons(per recipe) of chile paste to the sauce and added some red pepper flakes. It was great. The regular sauce was also perfect. Just like restaurant sauces, but without the MSG. I will definitely make this again and would recommend that everybody who likes Chinese food tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickgilby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
The sauce has potential, but it is way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Tasty. I halved the sugar (as recommended) but couldn't find chili paste so the whole thing lacked the "heat" we were looking for. Will keep looking for the chili paste for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Fantastic! I doubled the recipe to make more sauce so there would be some to put over rice, but I did not double the amount of sugar or sesame oil on the recommendation of other reviewers and it tasted great. This recipe could actually pass as take out because of the color, taste, and consistancy. I cut chicken breasts into chunks, lightly coated them in flour, and cooked them on the stove top in a little olive oil while making the sauce in a seperate pan. When the sauce was done I dumped it over the chicken and served the chicken with sauce over white rice. You could make this sauce with plain chicken breasts, but if you're trying to get a restaurant type effect they would taste better if they were breaded in something. This recipe is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
love this!!! tastes like home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States