Chinese-Style Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
If looking for a sauteed crispy broccoli recipe to go with stir-fry skip this recipe. It is definitely more of a cold salad like dish. To cut the sodium and calories, I eliminated the salt and oil to cook the broccoli. I didn't see how either were neccessary. I also cut the dressing in half, as I only wanted a light coating. I used rice wine vinegar as my only change initially. When I tasted the dressing, it was way too sweet and cold. I popped it in the microwave for 30 seconds and then ended up adding a pinch of garlic powder and about 1/2 tsp of dried chives to cut through the sweetness. Recipe is fine, but I prefer more of a hot broccoli side dish with my meal especially if it is cooked completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Followed recipe to a "t" except for the sesame seeds, and I loved it! A great new easy and quick way to eat steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Unfortunately we didn't enjoy this at all. The sesame oil was entirely too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I love broccoli...but this recipe was not what I expected. It was good, but I thought from the previous reviews it would be better. Perhaps I made an error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This tasted amazing.It is also super easy.I did exactly what the recipe said except I mixed in some sesame seeds at the end. My nanny and parents loved it. Also my 7 year old sister finally ate some vegetables. To me this tasted a lot like the broccoli you get at a Chinese restaurant. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
nobody in my house liked this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Good, simple. Might be nice with toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Killer broccoli recipe! This might be the best broccoli I've ever had. I actually chose seconds on broccoli instead of bread - that NEVER happens :) And my 3-year old even loved it! I made this as is except I used a microwave steamer for the broccoli to make it a 5-minute side dish instead of waiting for water to boil. A quick shake of sesame seeds made this over-the-top fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I wanted a super fast side dish so I warmed up some frozen broccoli and a chopped bell pepper in the microwave and then tossed with dressing using only 1 tsp sesame oil. We just loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I use seasoned rice vinegar so I left out the sugar. Also added garlic. Next time I'll probably throw in some red pepper flakes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States