Chinese-Style Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I like to make this broccoli when I'm making an "asian" themed dinner. You can make this lighter and lower in salt by eliminating all the extra salt called for in this recipe as the light soy sauce provides all the salt the recipe needs. Two tablespoons of sesame oil was way too much for us the first time I made it, so I'll usually add a teaspoon at a time until I get to the right taste. Rice wine vinegar is also good used in place of the regular white vinegar, if you have that on hand. I like to add either toasted sesame seeds or chopped roasted peanuts and a touch crushed red pepper for added flair. My kids aren't much for broccoli but they'll eat this up willingly without complaint. It's all about trying what works for your family and making it good for who you're feeding. NOTE: Using the dressing for this recipe and substituting broccoli slaw works well for this recipe, too. GREAT for making wraps with cold teriyaki pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was a treat – a flavorful, colorful and healthy treat. I don’t like my *cooked* vegetables crunchy, so I increased the cooking time to about 3-4 minutes. I adjusted the seasonings somewhat to suit my own tastes which I believe we always should do. Keeping the amount of soy sauce the same, I reduced the vinegar, oil and sugar by half - I prefer it that way, but won't fault the recipe as this is purely subjective. As for the sesame oil, the type wasn’t specified, so I used regular sesame oil and then the tiniest dribble of the fragrant and potent toasted sesame oil. I garnished it with toasted sesame seeds and served it at room temperature. Broccoli never tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
Instead of boiling the broccoli, I steamed it for about 4 minutes, until crisp-tender (which means I didn't use the 2 T of vegetable oil and 1 T salt). The whole recipe was simple and delicious. My 38 month old asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is really good and a nice way to spruce up regular 'ol broccoli. I used a steam in bag of broccoli to save time. I cut back the sesame oil to one Tbsp. and used low sodium soy sauce. I also used rice wine vinegar vs. white vinegar and added some cracked black pepper and let this set for a couple of hours. I served this at room temperature with some toasted sesame seed over top and overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Simple and delicious. I served it cold, halved the sesame oil(picky kids) and sprinkled with sliced almonds. I prepared the broccoli & dressing in advance but didn't combine them until 15 min. before dinner as I thought the vinegar in the dressing might discolor the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I used a bag of raw broccoli slaw and cut the sesame oil in half. Used one tablespoon agave nectar instead of sugar and added 2 tablespoons roasted sesame seeds, 1/4 cup raisins, and some slivered almonds. Just mix the dressing with a wire whisk and pour over all ingredients let all ingredients marinade for an hour or two and enjoy. So yummy, I ate the whole salad by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mychubbyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Excellent! Just what I was looking for. I cut down the sesame oil a lot (2 tsp instead of 2 tbsp), and steamed the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I don't like broccoli but I know I should add it to my diet so I'm always looking for a good recipe that makes me want to eat it. I've finally found it! I love the sharp flavor of the soy sauce and vinegar. Such a wonderful taste in every bite. The only thing I did different was boil the broccoli a litte longer, I like it soft. I will definitely be making it this way from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I wasn't overly impressed by this unfortunately. I thought 2 tbl. of sesame oil sounded like a lot, so I only used 1 tbl. and that was still all I could taste. Not a lot of depth of flavor here. Also, I think it would be better if you used rice wine vinegar instead of plain white vinegar! With some modifications this might be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I steamed my broccoli omitting the need for oil and salt because the soy sauce is salty enough. Substituted rice vinegar, cut back on sesame oil (taste preference) and added grated ginger and chopped scallions. The ginger gave it a little extra pop. I served it cold and it was devoured. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States