Chinese-Style Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent recipe. Made exactly as written except didn't add any salt. Doesn't need it. Will also use the sauce recipe to pour over ramen noodles instead of using the packet they come with. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Good for picnic or potluck.Super-easy and quick to make. Made some new broccoli fans, too. When I converted it to 10 servings, Iended up awash in dressing; it went right back in the colander til it wasn't dripping. And it needed jazzing up ; I had a can of Szechwan seasoning in the back of the cupboard and used it liberally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Not that great. Might be better with raw broccolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I like to make this broccoli when I'm making an "asian" themed dinner. You can make this lighter and lower in salt by eliminating all the extra salt called for in this recipe as the light soy sauce provides all the salt the recipe needs. Two tablespoons of sesame oil was way too much for us the first time I made it, so I'll usually add a teaspoon at a time until I get to the right taste. Rice wine vinegar is also good used in place of the regular white vinegar, if you have that on hand. I like to add either toasted sesame seeds or chopped roasted peanuts and a touch crushed red pepper for added flair. My kids aren't much for broccoli but they'll eat this up willingly without complaint. It's all about trying what works for your family and making it good for who you're feeding. NOTE: Using the dressing for this recipe and substituting broccoli slaw works well for this recipe, too. GREAT for making wraps with cold teriyaki pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I used a bag of raw broccoli slaw and cut the sesame oil in half. Used one tablespoon agave nectar instead of sugar and added 2 tablespoons roasted sesame seeds, 1/4 cup raisins, and some slivered almonds. Just mix the dressing with a wire whisk and pour over all ingredients let all ingredients marinade for an hour or two and enjoy. So yummy, I ate the whole salad by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mychubbyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was a treat – a flavorful, colorful and healthy treat. I don’t like my *cooked* vegetables crunchy, so I increased the cooking time to about 3-4 minutes. I adjusted the seasonings somewhat to suit my own tastes which I believe we always should do. Keeping the amount of soy sauce the same, I reduced the vinegar, oil and sugar by half - I prefer it that way, but won't fault the recipe as this is purely subjective. As for the sesame oil, the type wasn’t specified, so I used regular sesame oil and then the tiniest dribble of the fragrant and potent toasted sesame oil. I garnished it with toasted sesame seeds and served it at room temperature. Broccoli never tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The adults at the table thought it was okay...different. The kids at the table did not like it at all! If i tried it again, I'd go lighter on the vinegar, and maybe try Apple Cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
LOVED this dish! It's even better with a few toasted sesame seeds tossed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My family thought this was delicious Christy! Soy sauce has plenty on it's own so I skipped the salt and to give the salad some color, I added shredded carrot. Made this in the afternoon and served it chilled. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
We really like this one! I steamed the broccoli and used about half the sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States