Chinese-Style Baby Bok Choy with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very good. Goes well with meat. I didn't have potato starch; I used corn starch. I used rehydrated dried, sliced, Portobello shroom's. Have everything prepared and ready to go; there is no time to follow this recipe in 1, 2, 3 fashion without preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomas927

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent, particularly the sauce. I easily could see adding chicken or shrimp and serving over rice or noodles for an entree (double the sauce). The sauce is fantastic and would complement so many things that it makes my head spin. I had beautiful, fresh heads of baby bok choy, and they were overcooked at two minutes. When I realized they were overdone, I plunged them into a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking, but next time I will check at 30 seconds. I'll probably steam them the next time instead of cooking in a pot of boiling water eliminating the water draining out of the bok choy. Didn't add salt or oil to the water, and I used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I think the presentation should be the whole bok choy with mushroom sauce on top, but I just sliced mine into large pieces this time around. If you like Asian food, give this recipe a try because it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Even better with fresh shiitake mushrooms!! And add a splash of sesame oil to the oyster sauce mixture. Baby bok choy really only needs 30-90 seconds minutes in the boiling water or else it gets chewy and limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious, but it’s not the bok choy. It’s not the mushrooms. It’s the unique and richly flavored sauce along with the bok choy and mushrooms. This requires a couple of extra steps but you are rewarded for the effort. The flavor just can’t be beat. I don’t use potato starch, but cornstarch worked just fine. I served this with “Beef Yakitori” and “Garlic Fried Rice”, both recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Mmmm...this was great, but a bit salty. I will not sprinkle salt on the mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was phenomenol! I cut the oil in half to make it healthier, and I only boiled the white part of the bok choy. I added the green leafy part to the mushrooms and sautéed them the last 1-2 minutes. I also added shrimp for a complete meal. All 6 of my kids gobbled it up, and they hate veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wow!! This is excellent! I used cornstarch instead of potato starch since its what I had on hand. I also used 3 large cloves of minced garlic because we love it. Made no other changes.....healthy and so flavorful. Sprinkled mine with hot pepper flakes for a kick. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I have never seen potato starch so I used corn starch instead. I doubled the sauce but only because I added shrimp to the mix to make it a more hearty meal. We do not have baby bok choy in my neck of the woods so I used regular but I can only imagine how much better this would have been with it. Wonderful recipe and one I will make often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yum! I used Fish Sauce instead of Oyster Sauce and added ginger... turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I made this for dinner last night and added two sliced chicken breasts and was VERY pleased with the results. I doubled the sauce as well and think there wouldn't have been enough without doing so. This is a great base recipe and next time we will try added red pepper flakes or hot sauce, asapargus and perhaps sliced steak instead of chicken. Surprisingly, my meat and potatoes boyfriend LOVED this even without the chicken. Also, only boil the bok choy for no more than 90 seconds. VERY TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States