Chinese Steamed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This was very close to the real thing that you can buy at dim sum shops! I used brown sugar in place for the white because the authentic variety can be a fairly dark brown, and substituted vanilla for the almond extract. I didn't have a steamer or a large enough wok for my cake pan, so I placed it in a 9x13 pan, filled the larger pan with enough hot water to go halfway up the cake pan, covered the whole thing securely with foil, and baked it at 400 for 40 minutes. This would probably solve the problem with the undercooked bottom. It worked fabulously! Another suggestion would be to try serving the cake hot, and keep the remaining cake covered because it dries out easily. Wrap any leftovers with plastic and refrigerate. It reheats nicely in the microwave covered with a damp paper napkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This recipe brings back memories when my mother used to steam her cakes the only exception is she used lemon extract instead of the almond extract and no powder sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
It has a spongy texture. I reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. It would have been too sweet for me if I used the specified amount of sugar. I used a 9" round cake pan. My bamboo steamer wasn't large enough to acommodate the pan, so I used the "oven steam" method posted by IRIOSE on 1/25/2004. (Check her review for the method.) This is a great alternative if your steamer is too small or if you don't have a steamer. I baked it for 30-35 min at 375 degrees. I covered the cake in foil while it was still hot in order to keep it from drying out. It was good enough without the confectioner's sugar. By the way, be sure that your egg whites are room temp. when you whisk them. Otherwise, the peaks won't form properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
It tastes almost like the one's one the asian stores. It makes a good amount for a lot of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This was the closest to what my mom used to make for us when we were growing up. My mom passed away a few years ago and I've missed all the things she used to make for us. It's been difficult to find authentic Cantonese homecook style recipes. I've found other steamed cake recipes that just did not work and did not taste like the way my mom used to make it. This recipe came close. It was a little too sweet but I will adjust the amount of sugar next time. I also used vanilla extract instead of almond extract since my mom never used almond extract for this cake. I did not sprinkle the top of the cake with any confectionist sugar either. My mom served it warm and plain. This cake was so moist and the texture was just right for a steamed cake. Thank you very much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
easy and simple. i like this one. added vanilla and reduced the amount of sugar, as i didnt like it too sweet. mine was like a dome-shaped cake, different from the picture here...and i was so scared that the cake would collapse after the lid was removed. luckily it didnt. probably will add green tea powder or instant coffee into the batter to try if it will work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This cake had an excellant almond flavor. I really enjoyed preparing and eating this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I made this cake the other day and it turned out great! I only used one cup of sugar and used strawberry jam to top the steamed cake-my husband and kids loved it! The cake was good warm but even better cold. Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I tried making this for the first time and everyone enjoyed eating. Second time I sprinkled some grated cheese on top and it's really very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
to lilly, from July 11,2007... Sorry, this reply is really late, but in case you check in again, or for other viewers who do not know, cake flour is not self-rising flour. It is what is usually called "cake and pastry flour", or simply pastry flour. You find it in most grocery stores in the baking aisle. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States