Chinese Steamed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Some one please help! I want to know what is "cake flour"? Does this mean self-raising flour or plain flour? I used plain flour (the type with reduced wheat protein)which is not self-raising and added 1/2 teaspoon baking powder as instructed in this chinese steam cake recipe, but it did not work out as it did not rise, and was tough as rubber! Should I use self-raising flour? Or where did I go wrong. Please help to confirm wether cake flour is self-raising flour. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This was very close to the real thing that you can buy at dim sum shops! I used brown sugar in place for the white because the authentic variety can be a fairly dark brown, and substituted vanilla for the almond extract. I didn't have a steamer or a large enough wok for my cake pan, so I placed it in a 9x13 pan, filled the larger pan with enough hot water to go halfway up the cake pan, covered the whole thing securely with foil, and baked it at 400 for 40 minutes. This would probably solve the problem with the undercooked bottom. It worked fabulously! Another suggestion would be to try serving the cake hot, and keep the remaining cake covered because it dries out easily. Wrap any leftovers with plastic and refrigerate. It reheats nicely in the microwave covered with a damp paper napkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was my first attempt at making a steamed cake. I altered the recipe a little and it came out perfect. It tasted great and had a moist, spongy texture. My daughter even commented about how it melted in her mouth. Needless to say, the cake was devoured in no time. I used 4 eggs, 1 cup of sugar, 3 Tbsp. passion fruit juice; next time I will try lemon or orange juice. I added 2 tsp. vanilla extract, and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. After being steamed for exactly 20 minutes, the cake was perfectly done. This recipe is a keeper; I will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
It has a spongy texture. I reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. It would have been too sweet for me if I used the specified amount of sugar. I used a 9" round cake pan. My bamboo steamer wasn't large enough to acommodate the pan, so I used the "oven steam" method posted by IRIOSE on 1/25/2004. (Check her review for the method.) This is a great alternative if your steamer is too small or if you don't have a steamer. I baked it for 30-35 min at 375 degrees. I covered the cake in foil while it was still hot in order to keep it from drying out. It was good enough without the confectioner's sugar. By the way, be sure that your egg whites are room temp. when you whisk them. Otherwise, the peaks won't form properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I split the batch in which I steamed half of them and baked the other half using a muffin pan. I liked the flavour of the baked ones better. They were more fragrant, fluffier and sweeter to taste while the steamed ones turned out denser and had a more eggy taste. Though the baked one were fluffy, they were also a bit spongier. Is there a way to make it fluffy without being too chewy? Overall the recipe is good for a simple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Cake can be steamed in a wok without a "steamer". Place 4 pairs of chopsticks in wok and fill with water just to cover. Bring water to a boil and put cake pan on top of the chopsticks. Cover cake pan with a clean square dishtowel. Cover the wok with it's lid. This cake was ok. The first time I made it, I used a springform pan and steamed it for 20 min. The cake was a little dry, and the bottom center of the cake didn't finish cooking for some reason. If I make it again, I'll try a traditional bamboo steamer and definitely reduce the almond extract to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
This cake was really soft and spongy, and would be really suitable to split in half and top with strawberries. I reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup and tried vanilla flavoring. You need a big steamer for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I made this cake and it turned out rather dry and heavy. Not at all a reasonably light and moist cake I was expecting. Perhaps I was expecting this to be like the Ma Lai Gou served at dim sums. I suggest cutting the sugar in this recipe. It is just too sweet. If anyone has a good Ma Lai Gou recipe, would appreciate if you could share it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I've originally wanted to bake another kind of cake that's also found in Chinese bakeries, so I was a little upset when it didn't turn out to be the kind of cake I was looking for (I think what I was looking for is a sponge cake); however, I DID recognize the smell and taste of this cake to be the ones found in Dim Sum, called 'mah lai go' in Cantonese. I reduced the sugar to 1cup, used 2tsp vanilla extract instead of almond and baked it in the oven at 325F for around 50min. The taste was pretty authentic, nothing special, but it was slightly dry and not as spongey and moist as the ones found in the restaurants. Next time I'll definitely try to steam it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
It tastes almost like the one's one the asian stores. It makes a good amount for a lot of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States