Chinese Steamed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
This cake was really soft and spongy, and would be really suitable to split in half and top with strawberries. I reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup and tried vanilla flavoring. You need a big steamer for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This cake had an excellant almond flavor. I really enjoyed preparing and eating this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Cake can be steamed in a wok without a "steamer". Place 4 pairs of chopsticks in wok and fill with water just to cover. Bring water to a boil and put cake pan on top of the chopsticks. Cover cake pan with a clean square dishtowel. Cover the wok with it's lid. This cake was ok. The first time I made it, I used a springform pan and steamed it for 20 min. The cake was a little dry, and the bottom center of the cake didn't finish cooking for some reason. If I make it again, I'll try a traditional bamboo steamer and definitely reduce the almond extract to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This was very close to the real thing that you can buy at dim sum shops! I used brown sugar in place for the white because the authentic variety can be a fairly dark brown, and substituted vanilla for the almond extract. I didn't have a steamer or a large enough wok for my cake pan, so I placed it in a 9x13 pan, filled the larger pan with enough hot water to go halfway up the cake pan, covered the whole thing securely with foil, and baked it at 400 for 40 minutes. This would probably solve the problem with the undercooked bottom. It worked fabulously! Another suggestion would be to try serving the cake hot, and keep the remaining cake covered because it dries out easily. Wrap any leftovers with plastic and refrigerate. It reheats nicely in the microwave covered with a damp paper napkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
It tastes almost like the one's one the asian stores. It makes a good amount for a lot of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I split the batch in which I steamed half of them and baked the other half using a muffin pan. I liked the flavour of the baked ones better. They were more fragrant, fluffier and sweeter to taste while the steamed ones turned out denser and had a more eggy taste. Though the baked one were fluffy, they were also a bit spongier. Is there a way to make it fluffy without being too chewy? Overall the recipe is good for a simple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This was the closest to what my mom used to make for us when we were growing up. My mom passed away a few years ago and I've missed all the things she used to make for us. It's been difficult to find authentic Cantonese homecook style recipes. I've found other steamed cake recipes that just did not work and did not taste like the way my mom used to make it. This recipe came close. It was a little too sweet but I will adjust the amount of sugar next time. I also used vanilla extract instead of almond extract since my mom never used almond extract for this cake. I did not sprinkle the top of the cake with any confectionist sugar either. My mom served it warm and plain. This cake was so moist and the texture was just right for a steamed cake. Thank you very much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I made this cake the other day and it turned out great! I only used one cup of sugar and used strawberry jam to top the steamed cake-my husband and kids loved it! The cake was good warm but even better cold. Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I've originally wanted to bake another kind of cake that's also found in Chinese bakeries, so I was a little upset when it didn't turn out to be the kind of cake I was looking for (I think what I was looking for is a sponge cake); however, I DID recognize the smell and taste of this cake to be the ones found in Dim Sum, called 'mah lai go' in Cantonese. I reduced the sugar to 1cup, used 2tsp vanilla extract instead of almond and baked it in the oven at 325F for around 50min. The taste was pretty authentic, nothing special, but it was slightly dry and not as spongey and moist as the ones found in the restaurants. Next time I'll definitely try to steam it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
The recipe was a bit confusing, but otherwise tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States