Chinese Steamed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I made this cake and it turned out rather dry and heavy. Not at all a reasonably light and moist cake I was expecting. Perhaps I was expecting this to be like the Ma Lai Gou served at dim sums. I suggest cutting the sugar in this recipe. It is just too sweet. If anyone has a good Ma Lai Gou recipe, would appreciate if you could share it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
It had a different tast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escanaba, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Very moist and spongey cake. I topped it with whipped cream and a cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I tried making this for the first time and everyone enjoyed eating. Second time I sprinkled some grated cheese on top and it's really very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
The recipe was a bit confusing, but otherwise tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I've originally wanted to bake another kind of cake that's also found in Chinese bakeries, so I was a little upset when it didn't turn out to be the kind of cake I was looking for (I think what I was looking for is a sponge cake); however, I DID recognize the smell and taste of this cake to be the ones found in Dim Sum, called 'mah lai go' in Cantonese. I reduced the sugar to 1cup, used 2tsp vanilla extract instead of almond and baked it in the oven at 325F for around 50min. The taste was pretty authentic, nothing special, but it was slightly dry and not as spongey and moist as the ones found in the restaurants. Next time I'll definitely try to steam it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I made this cake the other day and it turned out great! I only used one cup of sugar and used strawberry jam to top the steamed cake-my husband and kids loved it! The cake was good warm but even better cold. Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This was the closest to what my mom used to make for us when we were growing up. My mom passed away a few years ago and I've missed all the things she used to make for us. It's been difficult to find authentic Cantonese homecook style recipes. I've found other steamed cake recipes that just did not work and did not taste like the way my mom used to make it. This recipe came close. It was a little too sweet but I will adjust the amount of sugar next time. I also used vanilla extract instead of almond extract since my mom never used almond extract for this cake. I did not sprinkle the top of the cake with any confectionist sugar either. My mom served it warm and plain. This cake was so moist and the texture was just right for a steamed cake. Thank you very much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I split the batch in which I steamed half of them and baked the other half using a muffin pan. I liked the flavour of the baked ones better. They were more fragrant, fluffier and sweeter to taste while the steamed ones turned out denser and had a more eggy taste. Though the baked one were fluffy, they were also a bit spongier. Is there a way to make it fluffy without being too chewy? Overall the recipe is good for a simple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
It tastes almost like the one's one the asian stores. It makes a good amount for a lot of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States