Chinese Steamed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I wanted to make something new and interesting so I decided to try this recipe. I wanted to give a cake to a friend but my steamer wouldn't accomodate a cake pan that large. Since my friend is single I decided to split it between 2 6-inch pans. They fit perfectly and my steamer has 2 levels so I thought this was going really well. I followed the recipe exactly and lined the pans with parchment paper. I steamed for 20 minutes and took the top one out. I turned it out easily, I removed the parchment paper to find that the bottom middle was still raw. Ugh. I let the 2nd one cook 10 minutes longer and found that did the trick. It was cooked completely and looked pretty. I gave it to my friend, she was sweet and said she liked it. I got home later and decided to try the other one that was still slightly raw. I thought I was so smart to scoop out the uncooked batter and fill it with slightly sweetened whipped cream and sliced strawberries. It was pretty looking but that's where it ended. It was hard and bland and dry. The topping didn't save it, I don't think anything could. I will never make this again and I feel bad for my poor friend. I set out to make something new and interesting and I got it- just not in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
easy and simple. i like this one. added vanilla and reduced the amount of sugar, as i didnt like it too sweet. mine was like a dome-shaped cake, different from the picture here...and i was so scared that the cake would collapse after the lid was removed. luckily it didnt. probably will add green tea powder or instant coffee into the batter to try if it will work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Some one please help! I want to know what is "cake flour"? Does this mean self-raising flour or plain flour? I used plain flour (the type with reduced wheat protein)which is not self-raising and added 1/2 teaspoon baking powder as instructed in this chinese steam cake recipe, but it did not work out as it did not rise, and was tough as rubber! Should I use self-raising flour? Or where did I go wrong. Please help to confirm wether cake flour is self-raising flour. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
It has a spongy texture. I reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. It would have been too sweet for me if I used the specified amount of sugar. I used a 9" round cake pan. My bamboo steamer wasn't large enough to acommodate the pan, so I used the "oven steam" method posted by IRIOSE on 1/25/2004. (Check her review for the method.) This is a great alternative if your steamer is too small or if you don't have a steamer. I baked it for 30-35 min at 375 degrees. I covered the cake in foil while it was still hot in order to keep it from drying out. It was good enough without the confectioner's sugar. By the way, be sure that your egg whites are room temp. when you whisk them. Otherwise, the peaks won't form properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
i'm not sure what i did wrong, but i was disappointed with this recipe. it was kind of dry and had a really eggy smell, which made me not want to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was my first attempt at making a steamed cake. I altered the recipe a little and it came out perfect. It tasted great and had a moist, spongy texture. My daughter even commented about how it melted in her mouth. Needless to say, the cake was devoured in no time. I used 4 eggs, 1 cup of sugar, 3 Tbsp. passion fruit juice; next time I will try lemon or orange juice. I added 2 tsp. vanilla extract, and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. After being steamed for exactly 20 minutes, the cake was perfectly done. This recipe is a keeper; I will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
It was so heavy and took forever to steam, had with strawberrys which paired well with the cake. made the cake better. will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
The cake is okay. The only change that i made is cutting back on the sugar to 3/4 cup, which was perfect. I am not too sure what was the cause of it, but the cake rise to become a dome shape in the steamer. It didnt have a really good presentation. The cake also needed to be steamed around 30 minutes, rather than the 20 minutes that was called for. Probably need to cut back on the almond extract and eggs, since it was a bit overpowering in the cake. The cake turned hard after it cooled down too. So if it is cool down, steam it before serving it. Only two family memeber liked it. Will not make it again, unless they requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gooberette
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was a very tasty cake. I did use vinalla instead of the almond extract. It was a very moist cake. My husband and I ate it with strawberry jam and it made the cake extra yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This recipe brings back memories when my mother used to steam her cakes the only exception is she used lemon extract instead of the almond extract and no powder sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States