Chinese Steamed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
this cake must be tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I decreased the almond extract and the flavour was still too strong. Also, I think the cooking time might have to be tweaked? I did the toothpick test and it came out clean, but like another reviewer experienced, the center of the cake was not completely done. :( (And I've steamed cake before so I don't know why it didn't cook.) If the flavour were more subtle and the cake cooked all the way through, the rating would be 4-5 stars because it was great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is *seriously* THE BEST steamed cake recipe i've ever tried. I took EBONY3's advice and my cake turned GREAT!, everyone loves it, very soft and easy to make. For those who failed, you might need to make sure the egg whites peaked perfectly before adding it to the yolks' batter. Thanks for sharing the recipe ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
hmmm..interesting little cake. pretty fussy, but I like trying new and unique recipes, so I gave it a shot. probably won't be making it again, but all in all it wasn't bad. I'd give it a 3 1/2. I used 1 cup of dark brown sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Replaced water with oil and the cake was so smooth that it melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
My cake turned out great! almost like the ones in Chinatown, however I will remember to reduce the sugar to 1 Cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kshi86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was really great! I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Nice to try something different, and it was pretty light, but I don't think that I'll be making this again. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Nice and simple cake with no butter or fat needed. The cake is still pretty moist the next day. I used all-purpose flour because I don't have any cake flour - it still taste nice. I don't know if the cake flour will actually make the cake more light and spongee. The key to make it more spongee with all-purpose flour is to REALLY beat the mixture (both the egg yoke and the egg white mixture) on high with an electronic mixer. My problem is the cake has a lot of holes from the bubbles. I will need to smooth the surface next time. Otherwise, hubby and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
to lilly, from July 11,2007... Sorry, this reply is really late, but in case you check in again, or for other viewers who do not know, cake flour is not self-rising flour. It is what is usually called "cake and pastry flour", or simply pastry flour. You find it in most grocery stores in the baking aisle. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States