Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Time consuming but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Fabulous! I followed the recipe to a T and the flavor was just what I was hankering for. As someone else said, the rise time is kind of a pain, but I just put the dough in my closed microwave - NOT ON!! - which is the perfect temp for bread recipes and went about my business. I also left them alone a little longer for the last rise which gave me a lighter bun. I think the people ending up with lumpy buns are probably handling the dough too much and/or allowing water to touch them (drip on them) as they steam - not good. The only downside to this recipe...24 balls is WAAAY too many for this amount of dough. This recipe really only makes enough bread for 12 buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
my 8 year old daughter and i made these. they reminded us of the steamed buns her philipino nanny used to make. We filled them with a chicken adobo mixture. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
These were yummy. I use to eat them, when I was a kid. My friend's father use to make them for us and I never thought I would have these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
These buns were so yummy! My husband loved them. We will use thhis recipe agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
wonderful recipe! i had every ingredient on hand... next time i'll probably make them bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
It's time consuming but worth it! The buns were moist and light. They were like those you would find in dim sum, except the buns were a lot smaller when made as directed. Each one was about a couple of bites. My family loved it. When steaming, make sure you have enough water to last through the 15 minutes. I will try it with filling next. I'm definitely keeping this recipe :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
YUM! I was hoping to make barbecued pork buns like what you can buy at the Pike Place Market in Seattle, and this recipe was awesome. I made my own filling with a boiled, finely chopped pork chop mixed with equal parts barbecue sauce and teriyaki sauce and a tablespoon of sugar. I followed the recipe for the buns just like it said, except let it rise for 3 1/2 hours . It had tripled it's size in two hours, but the dough was awful- like taffy so sticky. I'm glad I didn't give up though because with the additional time, it was perfect. I only made half a batch of these and ended up making two really big buns with it, they were delicious. We ate them with Cilantro Fried Rice and egg drop soup and it was a great dinner. I'm also going to try these with different fillings, experimenting with fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2004
My friend's father used to make this and was not able to get the recipe. Turned out very well and everyone enjoyed this. Remember if you are making the buns with filling, keep the centre thick and thin out the edges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I was looking for a way to use up my bbq pulled pork and this was a great recipe. Got lots of compliments from my co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States