Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The buns turned out really well in this recipe! They're extremely fluffy and soft - exactly how they should turn out! The only thing I would change next time is to put a little more "flavour" into the dough to either make it a sweet bun or a salty bun because it a little on the bland side. Although, I did put lotus paste in some and they were great. And I only ended up making 12 buns using the recipe and they were a good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe. I did change the baking powder to baking soda. These buns are delicious. Although I don't know how leftovers fare, becuase there weren't any. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
yummy! I am not used to chinese cooking other than what comes out of the general to go box, but I am trying to cook more stir fry for my family. This was a big hit! It made generally 24 (I froze 12). It was light and tasted great with a little honey brushed on after I took it out of the steamer. I used a filling I made of 6 mushrooms, 2 carrots, a little ginger, onion powder, honey, soy sauce and a spoonful of sour cream pulsed and then heated for 40 seconds in the microwave. I'll try a 2nd filling of carrot-apple-ginger next time. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is time-intensive, but its worth it. We tried it with various fillings, but it just didn't go well. I like the plain buns best-without filling. They're moist and sweet. Just be sure to use the wax paper-otherwise they stick to the steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as indicated but halved it. It turned out wonderful. The key is to let it rise, let it rise, let it rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was my first time making steamed buns. Overall- very satisfactory & good results but PATIENCE is key! I followed the recipe to the T but made half of the buns with peppers & hot sauce stuffed inside. I made "lop cheung bao" with the other half of the dough (for the kids). I rolled out the dough into long sqiggly strips and then wrapped it around chinese sausages. My mother in law says she uses a similar recipe but replaces some of the warm water for warm milk instead. She says this gives it more flavor and an even smoother texture. I will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Kuang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These were truly delicious and I never dreamed I could ever make these to taste so authentic. I filled the buns with a left over curried spam we had the previous night for dinner and they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe is very good! However it only makes 7 buns NOT 24. This is perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greatstudent24@aol.com
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love this recipe. It is easy to make, and can be filled with just about any filling. You can also add different food coloring, to make them more festive or for the kids. My favs are red and green for christmas and black and orange for halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatstudent24@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
As everyone has already said, I used more flour than the recipe indicated. Also, I put some random herbs and spices in the boiling water and that added a bit of flavor. I also put a bit of season-all on the buns before steaming and that added a really good flavor! Oh, and I also steamed them longer than the recipe said. A lot of people have said you can't put them in the microwave to reheat them, but it worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States