Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!!!!! I live on Oahu and was at Shirokiya's where they had dim sum demonstrators from Japan, I had a BAO that was yummy so I wanted to get the recipe because the taste/texture of this is so traditional but unfortunately, none of the restaurants here cook like this, I came upon your recipe, tried it, and it is just delicious!!!!!!!!!!!! i just have a question, if i was to put a filling in it, would it still rise? thank you for the recipe...i love it, i'm going to try it with whole wheat flour today...i am so grateful, i'm not the best cook in the world and if a recipe doesn't come out, i give up and don't cook for a long time, i'm so happy with this recipe that i am making it again today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is the very first recipe I've made using the nifty little bamboo steamer that I picked up at ross for $7 bucks - yeah! I made a bbq chicken filling, and let me just tell you that the bun was super soft and scrumptious. I'm going to try red bean buns next time. I was a little worried when kneading the dough because I ended up with a sticky mess... eventually I added about 2/3 cup more flour and that made for an easy to use, "doughy" consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Everyone lOVed it! I used warm milk instead of water,added a little more flour (didn't measure but just enough for it to be easier to work with), and added about a teaspoon of sugar. Made my own chicken curry filling with chicken, carrots, onion, and potato all chopped very small. it was aWesOme! Such a great recipe.. You can play with the fillings and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My Chinese Steam buns turns out GREAT! but here is a little Tip may help if your buns turn out little yellow color, you can add a tespoon or two of vinegar into the water, before you place any buns into the steam pot, and yes dont let any water drip onto your chinese buns. Good Luck Steaming...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These had a wonderful texture even my mother agreed! It's just that you have to take quite a long time with these though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I bought a bamboo steamer just so I could make these the other day!! I had a few issues regarding the texture of the dough, it came out extremely sticky and almost impossible to handle, I thought maybe once they were steamed they would be a little less sticky... Next time I will certainly add an extra few tablespoons of flour. I filled them with a couple different things. Some got bbq pork (I made bbq sauce myself for the first time ever- was not a success, lol) and others got a delicious array of steamed veggies and spices. If you're going to fill them, be careful that you have enough bun compared to your filling or it can be very tricky to get closed!! Overall, I will likely use this recipe again, with my own alterations, of course :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarasaur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
They turned out execellent, will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The buns turned out really well in this recipe! They're extremely fluffy and soft - exactly how they should turn out! The only thing I would change next time is to put a little more "flavour" into the dough to either make it a sweet bun or a salty bun because it a little on the bland side. Although, I did put lotus paste in some and they were great. And I only ended up making 12 buns using the recipe and they were a good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe. I did change the baking powder to baking soda. These buns are delicious. Although I don't know how leftovers fare, becuase there weren't any. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
yummy! I am not used to chinese cooking other than what comes out of the general to go box, but I am trying to cook more stir fry for my family. This was a big hit! It made generally 24 (I froze 12). It was light and tasted great with a little honey brushed on after I took it out of the steamer. I used a filling I made of 6 mushrooms, 2 carrots, a little ginger, onion powder, honey, soy sauce and a spoonful of sour cream pulsed and then heated for 40 seconds in the microwave. I'll try a 2nd filling of carrot-apple-ginger next time. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States