Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These buns were perfectly fluffy and delicious. I didn't change anything in the recipe, but I paired the buns with some improvised chicken. I shredded chicken thighs and cooked them in hoisin sauce, where I added HBI garlic and soy sauce, then strained it. It was a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I baked these instead of steamed. They were at 350 for about 30 minutes. Prior to baking I put an egg wash on them. Once I pulled them out of the oven I put a tablespoon of honey on top and brushed it around. They were very good. I am going to cook them again but at a little higher temp to see if I can get them even crisper. Filling was of my own creation of smoked pork butt and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, California, USA
Living In: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Tasted good but was not like any bao I've ever had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
easy to make and extremely delicious! used milk instead of water and added an extra teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the good stuff! Just like you get at the teacake places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. It came out texturally perfect, and delicious. I did have to incorporate a bit more flour, as the dough tended to be somewhat sticky. It had no discernible effect on the product. The buns were a hit, and next time I do intend to double the recipe, as they disappeared, literally, in moments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Wow, this is incredibly authentic, and one of the easiest bun recipes I have ever prepared. I added a little more flour (1/4 cup), enough so that the dough was not so sticky. For those who complain the dough is too wet - just use common sense and add a bit more flour until the dough is not sticking to the sides of the bowl - the final steamed bun will not taste any drier/denser because of the added flour. I made 24 filled buns (in accordance with the recipe), and they turned out the size of a slightly flattened tennis ball (there was about a tablespoon of filling in each). Anyone can make this - I rarely work with yeast and so was a bit nervous, but the instructions are very clear and the product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE do not use this recipe. I made this thinking it was the correct dough. There seems to be not enough flour in it and makes an awful dough. Too sticky and not worth the time. I am a professional chef and was not pleased with the product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I wish the bun is a little bit sweeter. But despite my own doubts looking at it, the taste after the steaming is done is PRETTY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was enough to satisfy my craving, but keep in mind it's not exactly dim sum quality. The dough is very sticky, and I had to almost double the flour. Personally, I don't mind if it's not super white because it really comes down to the flavor. I might try this again if another craving hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States