Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These disappear faster than I can make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Followed the metric measurements exactly for a half batch. Dough was way too wet and sticky. Instead of adding flour I went with what it was. It rose but collapsed catastrophically and got even more sticky. I just tossed the whole lot out without even trying for a second rise. It was clearly a wrong recipe. Unfortunately, I did not read the poor reviews first or I would have seen what I was experiencing before having to experience it. This is the second asian AllRecipes recipe that has failed me. I do not think I will attempt another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Very nice. I live in China, and gave my husband and a friend of ours a taste. They both really liked it. They said it's different from the ones they are used to, which are no sweet at all, but they liked it better. I also used milk. I made them twice actually. The first time I followed others' advice and added the baking soda, to counteract the sourness, which really wasn't necessary. I ended up adding it, and then had all these brown spots and strips in the buns. Word of advice, if you add b soda, make sure you knead it in really well...I think that's what I did wrong. The second time I didn't add the soda at all, and it was still great. However, I still kneaded in the baking powder really well. It turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Delicious the best bun recipe, but maybe needed a bit more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This recipe makes buns exactly the same as my favourite restaurant. I found the recipe to be perfectly fine the way it is, although just in case I added a pinch of baking soda along with the milk (instead of 1/2c water) and flour to ward off any sour taste (not that I noticed any). I also added an extra teaspoon of sugar, the reastaurant I like makes their bun dough quite sweet. I did a couple plain as testers and the rest I filled with cha siu pork. They were light and fluffy, and slightly chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great! A lot of work but taste really good. For the filling, I used the Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork filling from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I kneaded the dough until it looked shiny and elastic but I think that made the buns too dense in the end. I'm also not a fan of the flavor - too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Trying to teach my kids different cultures and made this for the Chinese New Year. It was a process but, worth it! The whole family LOVED them. Thank you for a great homemade recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Haslam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Yes this tasted good and it came out nicely - but it took 4.5 hours to make from start to finish - which was just more time than worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Turned out perfectly, just like I've had at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States