Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was great! I used it for Chinese Steamed buns from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Make sure you dice the pork loin to make wrapping easier. My only complain is that the marinade turned out very watery and made it really difficult to scoop into the steam buns dough without marinade dripping all over. Could just be my poor bun wrapping skills, but I noticed flour in Direction #1, but didn't see any in the ingredient list. Could be why my marinade was so watery... Also, I don't have wax paper and used foil instead and the bun didn't stick to the foil at all, even though I didn't oil the foil. Will attempt this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Loved these buns! My husband and I both spent time in Taiwan and agreed that they tasted very much like those in Taiwan. I had leftover pulled bbq pork that I used as the filling. I only gave 4 stars because they were a little doughy where you overlap the dough, but that could just be a matter of wrapping technique. Will be keeping this recipe handy as I can see making these buns many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
These were so easy to make. I did not use the filling recipe however. I purchased ready made shredded pork from the grocery store in the prepared meats section and added it to the sauce in this recipe. My 13 year old son took one bite and said "this is the best thing I have ever tasted in my whole life!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These didn't turn out so well. I followed the recipe to the letter, and they turned out vinegary and the dough was chewy. Overall, I really didn't like the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Very authentic! Based on a few of the reviews, I made 12 larger buns instead of 24 and steamed them for the full 20 minutes. I only had about 1.5 hours to let the dough rise, but they still turned out great. Instead of wax paper, I used parchment paper and had no trouble getting them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Thank you for this recipe! Also thank you ENDLESSSKY for the vegetarian suggestion as I am also a vegetarian. I added some fresh shitake mushrooms and some raw shredded potato marinated with the seitan and then stir-fried them before I chopped them up as the filling, which made it more moist and less dense on the inside. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were time-consuming and didn't taste half as good as the ones from the local market. In fact the sauce was way off. They weren't horrible, and I'm sure it was something I did to make them taste and look weird. Oh well, I'll just keep going to the market!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Loved it...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I made this for the first time today. It was soooo gooood. I did not make it with the BBQ pork because I was a little short on time instead I used some BBQ ribs meat that I got at the store. I removed the meat from the ribs and used that instead. Oh and I added more filling to the dough so it would be fuller. I also did not get all 24 instead I got only 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States