Chinese Steamed Buns with Barbecued Pork Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
really great i like them a lot fairly easy to do dont be turned off if u dont have a steamer they are easy to mae out of a foil pie pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
this recipe is a keeper. Just a note, to make the bun texture softer and smoother, use cake flour (you can buy in asian store), and to make the taste richer, use milk instead of water. These 2 changes make the bun really supple and beautifully shaped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I have made these a few times. They are very time consuming but they are taste. My husband loves them and I make whenever he requests them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Perfect recipe, my chinese parents were quite impressed and made another batch! Tastes even better than the ones I usually get from chinese bakeries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn Hammond
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We've never had pork buns before and we thought these were delicious. The buns really glued themselves to the steamer though. I used half wheat, half white flour for the dough and the bread machine to knead it for me. Also, just used some leftover pulled pork with Hoisin sauce mixed in, great way to use leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
i made these yesterday, and i cut the recipe in half. they were really good, the filling wasn't what i had had expected, probably because we used regular pork in place of "Asia barbecued pork". We found that their wasn't enough filling, but otherwise the buns were tasty. Also, my dough never rose as much as the recipe said, whether it was a problem with the yeast or it just isn't supposed to, i'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I made this recipe for a Birthday surprise for my best friend. This is one of her favorite foods! The recipe was very easy, though I didn't know where to buy the Asian BBQ pork so I purchase pork chops and added hoisen sauce. E did not use sesame oil or the oyster sauce. She doesn't like onions so I used only a tiny sprinkle of dried minced onions. She LOVED the buns and ate the entire 24 buns within a week! She said that the bun part was perfect and just the right consistency but that the meat needed a little more sweetness. (Probably because I didn't use the Asian pork.) I will make them again but add a bit more sugar for her taste. Thanks for this AWESOME recipe!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A decent dish; I'd be willing to cook it again. Although the filling was a tad too sweet, I nevertheless got used to it and ended up liking it more than the filling of some buns I've bought in restaurants. The dough was a little dry, yeasty, and bland, not quite as sweet as most buns, but not really bothersome. Like another reviewer observed, the directions are incorrect. I cut the dough recipe in half without changing the quantity of meat and even then I ended up with a bit more dough than I needed. In step one, the yeast-flour-water mixture never bubbled. In step four, follow the directions and put only two tablespoons of filling in each bun. (I was tempted to put in more. I was wrong.) If you use enough dough in a bun so that you can put in, say, two heaping tablespoons comfortably, the bun will end up uncomfortably large. And you'll also end up with an imbalance between meat and bread in each bite. I also learned that one should make the dough thinner than one thinks. (The dough rises a lot.) But the hardest thing about making buns is getting the dough to be a uniform thickness on all sides. I guess I just need to practice how to make a bun with a good balance of meat and dough everywhere. Following my revised recipe makes two _main course_ servings. If you freeze the buns before steaming, they freeze well. Incidentally, it took me 2.5 hours to cook from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
its goood...but its more on the saltier side...next time i would add more sugar than recommended! =) beside that everything is fine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States