Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I don't know why, but these tasted terrible. The mainade made them bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Nothing much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I doubled the sauce recipe but left out the sake. Used 3 lbs. of country ribs. Marinated for 3 hours. Cooked them very slowly w/o the water. They were amazing. My hubby asked me to make them again, which I'm doing today. They are juicy and flavorful; that fantastic blend of spices works perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Not to my liking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I love this recipe! I do bake them longer than recommended, they come out perfect. Must use the five spice powder or star anise to get the true Chinese rib recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia G
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was great! Great for Father's Day. I took advice from comments and added Hickory Liquid Smoke and Sesame Oil. I also couldn't find sake in time, and a local store owner loaned me some Korean liqueur that is similar, and it worked fine. I made 2 racks of baby back port ribs and 4x the recipe, but had to go back and make another batch of marinade to baste the ribs. I also cooked the ribs for 1.5 hours and they came perfectly done. I would make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
The sauce is great, but a word of warning here: follow the recipe as given. I tried using boneless spareribs and a crockpot (the crockpot per other suggestions I had read; the boneless pork spareribs were, well, a boneheaded idea on my part) and it's just not the same, comes out dry and not very sauce-y. Bone-in only and use the oven method as prescribed. Definitely going to try this again the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The marinade is very good. Authentic-tasting. It's true that the Chinese would use rice wine and not sake, which is a Japanese alcoholic drink. The type of alcohol doesn't make a huge difference. I even used ShockTop beer that has an orange-citrusy flavor. Nice. I make a large batch of this sauce and reduce it to thicken for basting and then serving with the rice. I used boneless spareribs that were thick so the cooking time was a lot longer. Finishing under the broiler really makes a nice sticky, toasty glaze so don't skip that step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Thought it was ok, but even after marinating and being sure to use fresh garlic and ginger in the sauce my ribs did not seem very flavourful. Very mellow flavour. Perhaps this was how they were supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
these were really good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States