Chinese Sizzling Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This soup was very delicious and my family loved it, but the rice was not edible unfortunately. I followed the recipe and used 2/3 a cup of uncooked white rice, which I fried and it ended up just tasting like regular uncooked rice. I suggest using the same amount of rice, but cooking the rice before you fry it. we tried it this way and it was just like our favorite restaurant's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
In addition to the constructive criticism/suggestions on here, I would like to add one more thing, concerning the rice. Bake the rice on a cookie sheet, like others have said, then cut the rice in squares and dip them into hot oil for a few seconds. Place the squares in the hot soup immediately and serve. That will give the soup the sizzling sound. My husband and I learned that trick, after talking to a waitress in an outstanding chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Sadly, this was very bad tasting to me and my husband both. Nothing compared to a restaraunt. Very bland, oily, over powered by shoots- vegetables over cooked quickly, baby shrimp practically disappeared, etc. I MAY try to make again with alterations suggested in comments. When and if (big if!) I do, I will re-rate at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimyloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
WONDERFUL! i added shitokie mushrooms and a cup more broth, and i substituted sherry with white wine. i also sauteed the mushrooms, water chestnuts, and bamboo in the same white wine and i loved it! minor changes, but it was fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Mmmm, Mmmm! That was just what my pregnant self was craving! We didn't have sherry, but I didn't miss it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This recipe is great with a few tweaks ( i know, i know, i hate when people alter the recipe's to the point where they are different, but this one needs the changes). First - too much oil! I cube the chicken and cook on the stove with a touch of sesame oil, soy sauce, and ginger. Also, cook the rice beforehand (just use the 5 min rice), and then spread on a cookie sheet and bake until golden brown). I personally prefer snow peas over green beans, and I added some shredded bok choy the last few minutes of simmering (can also use cabbage). With the reduction in oil, this recipe has a fresher more veggie taste to it and the broth just tastes so much better. I also ended up needing more liquid for all the veggies i added, so i used water and added chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanierj83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Wonderful better than a resturant the only problem i had was the rice and how to keep it together and get it out of the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
it was good, but too much stuff and not enough broth. I would use cooked rice next time then uncooked when frying up to place in soup. The uncooked rice sank to the bottom and did not enhanse the flavor like I have had at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe is always delicious! When I make it at home, I use seitan instead of chicken and shrimp. I made it the other day with chicken and shrimp, but I didn't do the cornstarch and egg thing. I've done it both ways and they are both delicious. I never use anywhere near the amount of oil in the recipe, nor do I ever add mushrooms. I use baby corns instead, and snow peas instead of green beans. It's tasty every time and every way I do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
As is barely okay, but at least it gave me the idea to make this on my own. My altered recipe was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States