Chinese Scallion Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I use to make a stop in Flushing,NY for scallion pancakes every time I had to make a run to JFK. Been craving this since I moved to the VI. This was right on! Simple and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mohananiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I really liked these pancakes. They came out very well! Next time, I would like to try a blend of sesame oil and vegetable oil to brush them with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Heald Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I liked this recipe, though I felt the pancakes were a wee bit heavy/doughy. I followed the recipe almost exactly as written--only differences were I let the dough rest for about 60 minutes (needed extra time to finish mincing the scallions) and I used less salt. This recipe calls for WAY too much salt--1/2 tsp per pancake would be excessive IMO! I just sprinkled a pinch on each one before rolling. I wasn't entirely sure what was meant by rolling the scroll into a "disk"--I think I did it right, but that description makes me wonder. Served them with Trader Joe's Gyozo Dipping Sauce and homemade egg drop soup. This was my first time making scallion pancakes, so perhaps I'll try a couple other recipes and see which I like the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I'm making these as I'm writing. Very simple recipe to to follow. I allowed the dough to rest for a good hour before rolling it out again. I also added a little sesame oil to the canola oil that I brushed the dough with. I made a dipping sauce which consists of soy sauce, rice-wine vinegar, toasted sesame oil, garlic powder, and honey and sugar to taste. Topped with a few scallions it's an easy accompaniment to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa DiMaulo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very tasty! I couldn't believe how well they came out the first time. My boyfriend had a hard time believing I made them myself. On my second go, I learned the hard way that you definitely have to let the dough sit- the longer the better. I'd also suggest getting the water as hot as possible. As for dipping sauce, I'd suggest Trader Joe's Soyaki sauce. It makes for the perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Good recipe. I substituted chickpea flour for half the flour and added cumin and sesame seeds. Next time I'll use sesame oil to add to the flavor. I didn't think the salt was too excessive. They were even good cold. Thinking of eating the leftovers for lunch with goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made the pancakes tonight and they came out pretty good except that they were too salty even though I cut the salt back to 1 1/2 tsp. My husband liked it as well.We would both like to see a good dipping sauce recipe along with it. Thanks!I would make it again..it was as good as any restaurant pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLODIA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made these scallions pancakes the other day. My kids and wife loved them...I thought they were good, but not excellent. This was my first time making scallion pancakes, so that may have been a contributing factor. We order them from our local take-out places all the time, and they are usually a little bit more flaky from them (although not always perfect from them either): mine was a bit dense/doughy. I have to admit, I forgot to brush the oil on the pancakes before rolling them, so that may have contributed to the problem. We used plain soy cause as the dipping sauce, but a sauce more like one used for dumplings would be more appropriate. I would definitely make these again, and would recommend this recipe. If I can get them a bit more flaky, and if the original author would add dipping sauce recipe, I would give this 5 stars/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have not tried the recipe but reading it I noticed that the salt was off. 1 tablespoon of salt equals 3 teaspoons. Reading further in the recipe it states to use 1 teaspoon first and then a 1/2 teaspoon later. So recipe should read 1 1/2 teaspoon divided, that would correct the sodium numbers, literally cutting it in half. In saying this I am looking forward to trying this recipe. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Keller

Cooking Level: Professional



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States