Chinese Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This recipe was very dissapointing for both my husband and myself. The flavor was strange and not at all what I expected. So, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Tankersley
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I liked the basic concept of this recipe. The ingredients that were involved were simple. I did however adlib some of my own ingredients. I used sesame instead of fennel. I used tangerine juice in the sauce and the squeezed tangerines in the cavity of the chicken and I roasted breast side down for a juicier white meat. Overall though I think that it was a delicious outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Tankersley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This was a great change from the standard roast chicken. I did make a few substitutions-- I used chinese 5 spice blend in place of the spices, sesame oil in place of the veg. oil, and used Mirin in place of the sherry. I also only cooked it to 160F (it would have been toast if we'd gone to 180F). The adults and my 3 year old loved it. My five year old complained that it didn't taste like chicken, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was good, but a couple of changes. I would marinate the chicken at least 2 hours or more in the fridge before cooking. There was not much flavor to the meat just be basting. Also, for a 4 lb chicken, check often with a meat thermometer as cooking time made it slightly dry. Smells wonderful while cooking though... All in all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This went from a 4-star recipe cooked as written using a whole chicken to 5 stars when I doubled the sauce recipe and mixed it a plastic bag, then shook up a whole, cut-up chicken in it, and baked it for about an hour (I used parchment paper on the baking tray and poured the remaining sauce over the chicken). Outstanding flavor, and everyone loved it, even my picky husband. It's one of my staple recipes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Not sure if I would try this one again. We marinaded in for 1 hr at room temp, turning if often. I didn't have the fennel seed, so maybe that would have made the differeence. It smelled GREAT when it was cooking, but after we pealed the skin off, the meat didn't have any flavor....I guess this is a common issue. Maybe we should have injected some of the marinade. We cooked a 3.8 lb bird for 90 minutes and it was cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharkSteak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this with a couple of Cornish hens. I wanted as much flavor as possible so I injected marinade under the skin, and let it sit in the fridge all day. Turned out great. I served it with 'Bok Choy, Carrots and Green Beans' from this site. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Pretty good. I used real ginger and threw it in the cavity instead of powdered. If you don't like 5 spice anything don't make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
May as well have put nothing on the chicken for as little flavor as the sauce added to the meat. I have better luck basting with just soy sauce and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I didnt have all the ingrediants but used wat I had and it came out tasting really good. Definately a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States