Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I have made this recipe multiple times and with minor modifications have absolutely loved it. I use low sodium soy sauce and chicken stock. But it is fabulous. The next day i shred the chicken and serve it with the leftover rice, green onion and hard boiled eggs. That is IF there are any leftovers which is pretty rare. Great recipe. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Turned out great: tasty and moist. Other complained about saltiness, but we did not find that to be so. The taste was a good balance. I followed another review and added chopped onion and minced garlic. Also, basted the chicken a couple times during the bake-time. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was crazy-salty and I don't think I'd make it again. It was pretty, as far as presentation, but even though I used reduced-sodium soy sauce, I still found it really salty. When there are so many nice roast chicken recipes, I don't think I'd use this one to fall back on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
the chicken was ok. the gravy wasn't any good. The sesame seed oil was a bit too much. I will be deleting this recipe from my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very tasty. Found the gravy to be a touch salty, but really great taste. Chicken was very moist and tender. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was awesome. Next time I wouldn't measure out the oil and soy, even with the reduced amounts some have suggested. Pouring enough to coat the chicken generously is fine and you won't waste expensive sesame oil. I coated with oil first, as someone suggested, then soy. I then poured maybe 1/2 cup water in the pan to prevent burning. Skin side down first to absorb flavor, then flip to skin side up to crisp. It was SO moist, delicious, and unique. Sesame oil brings the true taste of Chinese cooking. Do not substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I loved it for the taste and simplicity but unfortunately the family didn't think it was anything special so probably won't be making it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Loved this chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My kids loved this especially the gravy. They generally don’t like gravy. The chicken had just enough seasoning although I used low sodium soy. The oil really helps the skin become crisp. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very good. I only used ~1T of oil...cannot stand an oil slick. I shredded the chicken in the "gravy" and served over rice. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States