Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
It is very easy to make and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Wonderful! Now one of my favorites. The lovely smell lingers for a couple days in the house so if you do not like that, beware! Make sure and use a nonstick pan and I added water to the pan as the burning (carmelizing) soy sauce made me uneasy. Just adjust the water added to the chicken stock at the end, but even if there is too much water in the pan, you can just boil it off anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Well Lisamarie, my family loved this simple and different roasted chicken. To cut back on the salt, I used both low sodium soy sauce and chicken broth and to add more flavor, I seasoned my bird with onion and garlic powders, black pepper and a bit of ginger. To those who had a problem with the soy sauce burning on the bottom of the pan, all you need to do is pour in a little chicken stock and it will be fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Scrumptious!! I made the following modifications after reading the reviews: I reduced the soy sauce to 1/2 C and the sesame oil to 1/4 C, I also added 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper and 1/4 each garlic powder and ground ginger to the soy sauce before brushing it onto the chicken. I added about 1/2 C of chicken broth to the pan to prevent the burnt taste that several others have complained about. My bird came out perfectly cooked and beautifully browned, and the gravy is heavenly! I would recommend the leftovers for a Chinese chicken salad... would've tried it myself but we had none! I do have lots of leftover gravy as the kids weren't interested in it, so I think next week I will brush the gravy over chicken breasts and oven bake them. Thanks for the recipe Lisamarie, it's definitely a keeper!! P.S. Serve it over Egg Fried Rice by Krista B from this site... you will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
The flavour of the chicken is great! I used low sodium soya and chicken broth and the gravy was still a bit too salty for my taste but you don't need much. Also found that I only needed 1/2 c of soy and about 1/4 c of sesame oil. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
Preparation time is minimal, cooking takes awhile but definately worth the wait! This is an excellent dish, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This was sooooo good. I was amazed at how great it tasted with such simple ingredients. The leftovers were great, too- I stir fried some broccoli and green onions then tossed in the chicken I'd taken off the bone then added the leftover rice and sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Wonderful recipe. My family loved it. I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Very easy to follow. Very easay to modify! Very delicious! It's similar in taste to the Filipino dish, chicken adobo. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
The chicken turned out great! However, I sliced pats of butter and stuffed it between the skin and meat to insure that the chicken would be juicy. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States