Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Cooking chicken covered with oil and soy sauce is my favorite way to eat chicken... the soy sauce gives it good flavor and the oil keeps it moist. I had never thought to do it with a roasted chicken, however, until I read this recipe and thought, "why not?" I followed the recipe loosly: I made a mixture of chopped onions, chopped garlic, sage, ginger, a little bit of soy sauce, a little sesame seed oil and a little broth and put that inside the chicken. I then covered the chicken with the sesame oil first and then soy sauce (not the oil at the end like the recipe, which makes no sense to me... the oil keeps the chicken moist), added about a cup or so of broth to the pan and let it cook... I did cook it for a half hour at 400 and then for another hour and a half at 350. I made gravy with the drippings/broth mixture, which ended up being the BEST gravy to ever come out of my kitchen, but I didn't use this recipe for the gravy... I made it with flour (actually Wondra) and the pan stuff only. The chicken smelled GREAT the whole time it cooked, and looked awesome... the oil/soy sauce made the skin beatifully brown and crispy, the inside was SO moist. The gravy, like I said, was to DIE FOR (served it over the chix and white rice). This meal was really awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Scrumptious!! I made the following modifications after reading the reviews: I reduced the soy sauce to 1/2 C and the sesame oil to 1/4 C, I also added 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper and 1/4 each garlic powder and ground ginger to the soy sauce before brushing it onto the chicken. I added about 1/2 C of chicken broth to the pan to prevent the burnt taste that several others have complained about. My bird came out perfectly cooked and beautifully browned, and the gravy is heavenly! I would recommend the leftovers for a Chinese chicken salad... would've tried it myself but we had none! I do have lots of leftover gravy as the kids weren't interested in it, so I think next week I will brush the gravy over chicken breasts and oven bake them. Thanks for the recipe Lisamarie, it's definitely a keeper!! P.S. Serve it over Egg Fried Rice by Krista B from this site... you will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This chicken, along with the gravy, served with steamed white rice and green beans, made a delicious and easy Sunday dinner for my family. I used other reviewers' suggestions and stuffed the chicken with chopped onion, garlic and ginger, moistened with a little soy and sesame oil. Next time I'll try stuffing this mixture until the skin of the breast as well. I rubbed the outside of the bird with the sesame oil first, then brushed on low sodium soy sauce. I poured one cup of chicken stock (not broth, which has higher sodium) in the bottom of the roasting pan, set the bird down into the pan, and roasted it at 400 for 1/2 hr. Then lowered the heat to 350 and let it cook for 1 1/2 hrs. The gravy (thickened with 2T. cornstarch mixed with a little water) was perfect, no need for any add'l salt or pepper. Thanks so much for a great recipe I'll use over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Well Lisamarie, my family loved this simple and different roasted chicken. To cut back on the salt, I used both low sodium soy sauce and chicken broth and to add more flavor, I seasoned my bird with onion and garlic powders, black pepper and a bit of ginger. To those who had a problem with the soy sauce burning on the bottom of the pan, all you need to do is pour in a little chicken stock and it will be fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
the gravy does NOT turn out the way it should. It burns at the bottom of the pan and the gravy has a salty/burnt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This was sooooo good. I was amazed at how great it tasted with such simple ingredients. The leftovers were great, too- I stir fried some broccoli and green onions then tossed in the chicken I'd taken off the bone then added the leftover rice and sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
A very, very nice and different way to get fantastic flavour into a roast chicken! Made a couple of tweaks, and with these adaptions it is a 5 star recipe no question. I added some diced white onion and crushed garlic cloves to the roasting pan. I also added 1/2 tsp of toasted sesame oil in right at the end before serving. Scumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
I thought it might turn out too salty, but it didn't. I did make a point of basting the chicken as it roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I was skeptical to try this mostly because I thought the soy sauce would never hold up to the heat - I was right. Burned soy sauce. Boring chicken. No gravy. Bummer dinner. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISPENTINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
The flavour of the chicken is great! I used low sodium soya and chicken broth and the gravy was still a bit too salty for my taste but you don't need much. Also found that I only needed 1/2 c of soy and about 1/4 c of sesame oil. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States