Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
The chicken was WONDERFUL!! Very tasty and extremely juice. I didn't find a need for the gravy since the chicken was so good by itself. Also the gravy was very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
What a nice simple way to cook a chicken. My house smelled heavenly from the soy and sesame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granolagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
the gravy does NOT turn out the way it should. It burns at the bottom of the pan and the gravy has a salty/burnt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
My entire family loved this. I did put chicken broth in the bottom of the pan and watched it during cooking. I also stuffed the chicken with onions, garlic and diced fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
the house smelled so good while baking this chicken. the oil made the skin crispy and the cravy is wonderful. we did learn that the sauce has a very stong flavor, a little goes a long way. thnaks bunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Scrumptious!! I made the following modifications after reading the reviews: I reduced the soy sauce to 1/2 C and the sesame oil to 1/4 C, I also added 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper and 1/4 each garlic powder and ground ginger to the soy sauce before brushing it onto the chicken. I added about 1/2 C of chicken broth to the pan to prevent the burnt taste that several others have complained about. My bird came out perfectly cooked and beautifully browned, and the gravy is heavenly! I would recommend the leftovers for a Chinese chicken salad... would've tried it myself but we had none! I do have lots of leftover gravy as the kids weren't interested in it, so I think next week I will brush the gravy over chicken breasts and oven bake them. Thanks for the recipe Lisamarie, it's definitely a keeper!! P.S. Serve it over Egg Fried Rice by Krista B from this site... you will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I'm sorry to rate this a one, but it really didn't turn out good at all. The major flavor, at least on the skin/drippings, was burnt soy sauce. I tried the suggestion of adding a can of chicken broth to the bottom of the pan, it still cooked dry and burned, even after adding a second can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
It's not fancy, but if you're looking for something simple, inexpensive, yet tasty this is it. I thought the gravy would be too salty, but it's just right over rice. Next time I might stuff cavity w/ onion & herbs for a more flavorful chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
My crew raved about this. I took suggestions such as broth on the bottom of the pan and added ginger, onion powder, and garlic powder. The gravy is outstanding and this makes an easy alternative to stir fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Well Lisamarie, my family loved this simple and different roasted chicken. To cut back on the salt, I used both low sodium soy sauce and chicken broth and to add more flavor, I seasoned my bird with onion and garlic powders, black pepper and a bit of ginger. To those who had a problem with the soy sauce burning on the bottom of the pan, all you need to do is pour in a little chicken stock and it will be fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States