Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Five Stars for the Chicken - only 3 for the gravy (very salty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is the best and simplist recipe I have ever encountered! How a dish with only four ingredients can taste so good is simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. Simple and extremely satisfying. The chicken was so tasty that we barely used any gravy! I did add a cup of chicken stock while baking chicken to avoid burning and a 1/2 onion, quartered in the cavity. Awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This chicken was so excellent. My whole family loved it. I did change the recipe - I used Aminos (low-sodium soy substitute) instead of soy, and I added ginger and garlic powder and seseme oil to the rub. I still added the oil in the last ten minutes. And it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is an excellent recipe, I did read the other reviews and took some of their advice. I rubbed the chicken with the sesame oil, then poured on the soya sauce. The gravy was excellent as well. I did use canned chicken stock. I will definitely make this recipe again, and again, and again. Tanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is very delicious... me and hubby eat all 1 whole chicken.. burp! heheh thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! I followed the suggestions and zipped up the soy sauce with some ginger, garlic, and black pepper. I added chicken stock to the bottom of the pan and basted frequently. I only cooked for about an hour and 10 min (could have gone a little longer), and I threw some broccoli in the pan during the last 20 min for a side. Next time I'll use less sesame oil. We served with white rice to help even out the salty taste. The chicken was wonderful and we didn't even need the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cryduchat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've read some reviews that say that the drippings get burnt. Put the chicken on a bed of mirepoix (relitively the same sized cuts of onions, carots, celery) about a cup will do. This keeps the bottom from getting burnt because it is not on the pan and achieves a more even level of doneness. It also makes more juice for a sauce and makes it a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Laveen, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
WOW, this was good! I can't believe how moist and tasty....Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I changed everything without meaning 2 but it was super good. i poured the soya sauce on the chicken and added some chicken broth to the pan along with potatoes. cooked for an hr and made gravey with the dripings by adding cornstarch. the gravey was awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States