Chinese Pork Buns (Cha Siu Bao) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I followed the recipe for the dough, but found it needed an extra 1/2 cup of milk to really get it to the right consistency. As for the filling, I've always added diced scallions, shallots, and garlic to my cha siu bau. This is one of the few recipies that accurately calls for baking soda in the dough, though, so I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Produced a great steamed bun. I didn't try the meat filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I've tried a veggie version by replacing the cha siu by chinese marinated eggs. Simply splendid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Very yummy and filling. Way better than just a dinner roll! found the bread dough to dry. The second time we made the recipe we added more water to the dough and made the buns 1/2 the size too be more like appitizers than big buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I loved these on their own, but I fried them on both sides to give a little extra texture... Also, it seems a little easier if you marinate the pork overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I only made the bun portion of this recipe. I tried it twice and both times the dough came out crumbly and dry. The buns turned out so-so, not very moist and kind of dense. I had much better results with the Chinese Steamed Buns recipe which required more steps. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
The dough recipe was perfect, albeit very large. The stuffing however was pretty bad. I have made quite a few chinese dishes and this had the worst flavor. It needs to be sweeter and more vibrant. Next time I will use less oyster sauce and add honey and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I was really nervous making baos for the first time for my husband who comes from a chinese family, but they all loved them and my husband couldnt get enough of them. He said that they are better than at the chinese store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
The filling was good but doesn't quite capture the same flavor as restaurant char siu buns. But still a hit among family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States